Beulah Land

Beulah Land

Director: Harry Falk, Virgil Vogel Cast: Lesley Ann Warren, Michael Sarrazin

DVD (Full Frame)

$14.20 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.2, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Beulah Land is an edited, movie-length version of the three-part TV miniseries adaptation of Lonnie Coleman's multi-part novels. The film is set in the Old South, with a time span ranging from 1827 to the postwar Reconstruction Era. Lesley Ann Warren stars as Sarah Kendrick, young belle of the Beulah Land plantation, who finds herself in love with a "damn Yankee." Sarah must also contend with a weakling brother (Paul Rudd) and a former slave (Dorian Harewood) who demands freedom as a right rather than a privilege. Beulah Land took forever to get before the cameras due to protests from black historical organizations; when it was finally telecast on October 7-9, 1980, NBC conducted a low-pressure ad campaign, as though the network was still fearful of stepping on toes despite the testimonial of a black Yale history professor, who commended the production for its "special sensitivity."

Product Details

Release Date: 07/26/2005
UPC: 0043396051829
Original Release: 1980
Rating: NR
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 4:41:00
Sales rank: 17,710

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lesley Ann Warren Sarah Pennington
Michael Sarrazin Casey Troy
Eddie Albert Felix Kendrick
Meredith Baxter-Birney Lauretta Pennington
Hope Lange Deborah Kendrick
Paul Rudd Leon Kendrick
Dorian Harewood Floyd
Martha Scott Penelope Pennington
Paul Shenar Roscoe Corlay
Allyn Ann McLerie Edna Davis
Jenny Agutter Lizzie Corlay
Don Johnson Bonard Davis
Clarice Taylor Lovey
Robert Walker Bruce Davis
Taylor Lacher Sgt. Smede
Bibi Osterwald Nell Kendrick
Laurie Prange Rachel Kendrick Davis
Franklyn Seales Roman
Madeleine Stowe Selma Kendrick Davis
Jean Renee Foster Pauline
Jonathan Frakes Adam Davis
Ilene Graff Annabel Davis
Peter de Anda Jubal Corlay
Elizabeth Robinson Dorothy Corlay
K.C. Martel Young Benjamin
Kevin Hagen Sheriff Barnes
Marco St. John Blaylock
Stuart Mabray Roscoe Corlay II
Ray Girardin Capt. Ponder
James Daughton Benjamin Davis II
Betsy Slade Doreen Davis
Patrick Harrison Benjamin Davis
Vernon Waddle Clarence Andreson
Ruth Cox Priscilla Oglethorpe
Peter Hobbs Governor
Carole Jordan Trudy Jordan
Sheila Ann Cage Stella
Robin James Nancy
De'Voreaux White Abraham
Marvel Lewis Lotus
Tommie Stewart Cook
Grand L. Bush Nathaniel
Gene Rutherford Hoskinson
Malcolm McMillan Lipscomb
Will Long Hardy
Jack Rey Price
James Steele Meecham
Rosia Wade-Crisler Myrtis
Colia Lafayette Lucille
Michael C. Stewart Alonzo
B.J. Hopper Oglethorpe
Bobbie Harper Mrs. Oglethorpe
Gloria Winters Dawcy
Jerry Leggio Varnedoe
Kyle Richards Young Sarah
Tina Payne Young Lauretta
Todd Lookinland Young Leon
Joey Green Young Floyd
Kristoff St. John Young Roman
Michelle Simms Clovis
Tracy Clanton Young Selma
Geren Moor Young Bonard
Zetella Walker Young Pauline
Ken Dills Young Bruce
Elizabeth DeLeon Young Rachel
Eric Shawn Whittington Young Adam
Anthony Thompkins Young Roscoe II

Technical Credits
Harry Falk Director
Virgil Vogel Director
Jim Benson Editor
Edward C. Carfagno Art Director
Allyn Ferguson Score Composer
David Gerber Executive Producer
Grady Hunt Costumes/Costume Designer
Andrew Jackson Cinematographer
Ronald LaVine Editor
Jacques Meunier Screenwriter
Christopher Morgan Producer
David Wages Editor

Scene Index

Side #1 -- Beulah Land, Disc One
1. Start [15:18]
2. Sarah & Lauretta [19:11]
3. Selma's Circumstances [12:38]
4. Leon Marries Sarah [9:10]
5. Leon's Indiscretion [16:01]
6. Lauretta's Surprise [13:55]
7. Milk Brothers [10:26]
8. The New Overseer [13:12]
9. Casey Troy [10:46]
10. Violated [12:07]
11. The End of Bonard [19:44]
12. "We Are at War." [16:01]
13. Atlanta Under Attack [9:38]
14. Going Home [11:37]
Side #2 -- Beulah Land, Disc Two
1. A Mess of Yankees [13:57]
2. The Missing Sawmill [12:23]
3. Beulah Land in Flames [12:49]
4. Revenge [11:38]
5. "The War Is Over." [11:28]
6. The Spirit of Beulah Land [15:31]
7. "Don't Go." [13:16]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews