Diary of a Chambermaid

Diary of a Chambermaid

DVD (Remastered / B&W)

$23.90 $24.99 Save 4% Current price is $23.9, Original price is $24.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


Based on the novel by Octave Mirbeau, Diary of a Chambermaid is a noble experiment: a "Continental" sex drama with a virtually all-Anglo cast. Paulette Goddard plays the title character, a saucy servant named Celestine whose forthrightness has a curious effect on a wealthy Parisian household. Determined to elevate her lot in life, Celestine uses her unsubtle charms to beguile her wishy-washy master, Monsieur Lanlaire (Reginald Owen), and Lanlaire's wastrelly son, Georges (Hurd Hatfield). She also inadvertently inspires the lovesick valet Joseph (Francis Lederer) to steal from the family and kill Georges. Burgess Meredith, Goddard's then-husband, delivers an astonishing performance as Mauger, the Lanlaires' bizarre, shell-shocked neighbor (he also wrote the screenplay and co-produced). Diary of a Chambermaid was remade by Luis Buñuel in 1964, with Jeanne Moreau in the lead.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/26/2013
UPC: 0887090054904
Original Release: 1946
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:26:00
Sales rank: 32,605

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Paulette Goddard Celestine
Burgess Meredith Captain Mauger
Hurd Hatfield Georges Lanlaire
Francis Lederer Joseph
Judith Anderson Mme. Lanlaire
Florence Bates Rose
Irene Ryan Louise
Almira Sessions Marianne
Reginald Owen Captain Lanlaire
Jean Renoir Actor

Technical Credits
Jean Renoir Director,Screenwriter
Lucien Andriot Cinematographer
Benedict E. Bogeaus Producer
Joseph Depew Asst. Director
Eugène Lourié Production Designer
Burgess Meredith Producer,Screenwriter
Michel Michelet Score Composer
James Smith Editor
Lee Zavitz Special Effects

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Diary of a Chambermaid
1. Chapter I [11:42]
2. Chapter II [10:50]
3. Chapter III [17:31]
4. Chapter IV [6:33]
5. Chapter V [17:14]
6. Chapter VI [5:23]
7. Chapter VII [7:35]
8. Chapter VIII [10:31]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews