Four's a Crowd

Four's a Crowd

Director: Michael Curtiz Cast: Errol Flynn, Olivia de Havilland, Rosalind Russell

DVD (B&W / Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


A standard-issue "screwball comedy" of the 1930s, Four's a Crowd starred a quartet of Warner Bros' biggest stars: Errol Flynn, Olivia DeHavilland, Rosalind Russell and Patric Knowles. Flynn plays a publicity agent hired to stir up "good press" for a nasty millionaire (Walter Connolly). Errol accomplishes this by going back to his old job as editor of a newspaper owned by Knowles, then using the paper to elucidate Connolly's virtues. Along the way, he romances Olivia de Havilland, who plays Connolly's daughter, and Rosalind Russell, portraying--surprise, surprise--Knowles' star reporter. Much to the amazement of the audience, Flynn ends up not with his frequent costar DeHavilland but with Russell. Fast-moving and chucklesome, Four's a Crowd was nothing new; chances are it would never have been made had it not been for the success of the vaguely similar MGM comedy Libelled Lady (36), which likewise had a quadruple-barreled starring lineup (Spencer Tracy, Jean Harlow, William Powell and Myrna Loy).

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/2009
UPC: 0883316165331
Original Release: 1938
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [B&W, Full Frame]
Time: 1:32:00
Sales rank: 23,866

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Errol Flynn Robert Kensington Lansford
Olivia de Havilland Lorri Dillingwell
Rosalind Russell Jean Christy
Patric Knowles Patterson Buckley
Walter Connolly John P. Dillingwell
Hugh Herbert Silas Jenkins
Melville Cooper Bingham
Franklin Pangborn Preston
Herman Bing Barber
Margaret Hamilton Amy
Joseph Crehan Pierce, the Butler
Joe Cunningham Young
Gloria Blondell Lansford's Second Secretary
Carole Landis Lansford's First Secretary
Renie Riano Mrs. Jenkins
Charles Trowbridge Dr. Ives
Spencer Charters Charlie
Scotty Beckett Actor
Joseph Calleia Actor
Lana Turner Bit Part
Dennie Moore Buckley's Secretary

Technical Credits
Michael Curtiz Director
David Lewis Producer
Leo F. Forbstein Musical Direction/Supervision
Ernest Haller Cinematographer
Ray Heindorf Score Composer
Sig Herzig Screenwriter
Clarence Kolster Editor
Robert B. Lee Sound/Sound Designer
Orry-Kelly Costumes/Costume Designer
Max Parker Art Director
Casey Robinson Screenwriter
Heinz Roemheld Score Composer
Wallace Sullivan Original Story
Hal B. Wallis Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews