Grateful Dead: A View From the Vault II

Grateful Dead: A View From the Vault II

Director: Len dell'Amico Cast: Jerry Garcia, Mickey Hart, Bruce Hornsby

DVD (Stereo)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Volume two in the Grateful Dead's View From the Vaults series of multimedia releases comes from a pair of Washington, D.C., R.F.K. Stadium shows from the summer of 1990 and 1991, respectively. The feature presentation is both sets from June 14, 1991, with copious filler or "bonus" material from July 12, 1990. The DVD includes a previously unissued music video for "Liberty," one of the final collaborative efforts between lyricist Robert Hunter and guitarist and vocalist Jerry Garcia. During the band's final decade of touring (1985-1995) many technological advancements made it possible for them to reinvent the classic light show, á la the Dead's ballroom daze of the late '60s for a 1990s audience. Among these advancements was a traveling film crew who would shoot the summer stadium tours. The immediate effect was the ability to simulcast live video of the band, as they performed on stage, onto large screens. What remains is the raw footage re-creating precisely what show attendees experienced. For better or worse, this consists of some rather dated visual enhancements existing on the video master including computer and digital animation, solar and lunar stock footage, and some repetitive time-lapse photography. Musically, the band is at a zenith. While the influx of new material had all but ceased, Grateful Dead standards such as "Row Jimmy," and the 1990s revival of Bob Weir's "Black Throated Wind" are crystalline in their execution, taking on new hues of maturity. On the contrary, the "Help on the Way," "Slipknot," and "Franklin's Tower" suite, which begins the second set of the June 1991 show, is alive and kicking in the same untamable fashion that graced many mid-'70s renditions. A hidden audio highlight is featured during the DVD program menu screen. Although the Garcia/Hunter epic "Rubin and Cherise" is normally associated with the Jerry Garcia Band, it was performed by the Dead four times during the spring of 1991. The use of the song on this DVD marks the first time the track was issued by the Grateful Dead.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2001
UPC: 0012233479423
Original Release: 2001
Rating: NR
Source: Monterey Video
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 3:45:00

Special Features

Bonus footage from RFK Stadium, July 12, 1990 with the songs "Box of Rain," "Victim or the Crime," "Foolish Heart," "Dark Star"; "Liberty" video, directed by Justin Kreutzmann; visible lyrics option; venue information; Grateful Dead band bio

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Cold Rain and Snow [8:51]
2. Wang Dang Doodle [6:31]
3. Jack-A-Roe [6:31]
4. Big River > [5:42]
5. Maggie's Farm [7:33]
6. Row Jimmy [11:04]
7. Black-Throated Wind [6:41]
8. Tennessee Jed [7:52]
9. The Music Never Stopped [8:59]
10. Help on the Way > [4:34]
11. Slipknot! > [8:25]
12. Franklin's Tower [12:25]
13. Estimated Prophet > [13:13]
14. Dark Star > [11:27]
15. Drums > [9:51]
16. Space > [8:26]
17. Stella Blue > [10:47]
18. Turn on Your Lovelight [9:23]
19. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [7:16]
20. Box of Rain > [7:34]
21. Victim or the Crime > [8:23]
22. Foolish Heart > [10:08]
23. Dark Star > [24:44]
24. Drums [:19]
25. Credits [2:09]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Grateful Dead: A View From the Vault II 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent show, played with drive & determination in the heat and humidity that is Washington D.C.'s Robert F. Kennedy Stadium in late spring, early summer. This show features the two keyboardist team of new permanent member Vince Welnick and part-time helping-out Pop sensation, Bruce Hornsby. This new blood gives the band something new to figure out and amaze each other, along with the audience. The first set highlight is Big River into Maggie's Farm. The second set highlights are a great Help On The Way > Slipknot! > Franklin's Tower, Estimated Prophet > Dark Star > Drums > Space > Stella Blue. Bob weir's Turn On Your Lovelight is almost pale by comparison. There is a nice bonus to this DVD from July 12, 1990, which includes Box Of Rain > Victim Or The Crime > Foolish Heart > Dark Star. The Foolish Heart is somewhat of a let down. This show (6/14/91) was a fun experience for us, even in the humidity. The drawback on this DVD is that the source video is a video feed to the large screens that were employed for the folks who could not see the band up close, most of the audience and contains some video effects that seemed neat, psychedelic, and cool at the time but more than 20 years later, seem cheesy and dated. Some of the shots could have been better, I would have liked to see more of Jerry doing a lead part than something else, but what can you do. The soundtrack three disc CD set lets your mind imagine much more than what you see here but unfortunately, it is currently out of print.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first Dead show I've seen, and I'm not impressed. Here they are on stage before 30,000 people, and they don't look like they're getting a bit of enjoyment from it. It's hard to tell if they're playing a rock concert or reading Anna Karenina. I listen to jazz a lot and love improvisation, but not the way these men do it. All six men are playing all the time, and this constant thick texture gets monotonous quickly. There is little variation in dynamics and tempo. Deadheads seem to think this stuff is heaven, but 15 minutes is all I need.