History Makers: Courage

History Makers: Courage


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28


Experience the true personification of courage as Russell Simmons' Higher Self Series brings home the tales of African-American icons who refused to take no for an answer and forever altered the course of American history. From Harry Belafonte's valiant efforts to reveal the truth during the civil-rights and anti-apartheid movements to the barriers that Vernon Jordan overcame to join America's elite circle of power, the stories are all here -- and told by the people who experienced the remarkable struggles firsthand. With ten other tales of triumph, including the remarkable stories of Nikki Giovanni, B.B. King, and Angela Davis, this inspirational release shows that even in the face of insurmountable odds, the will to overcome will always triumph.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/15/2005
UPC: 0014381239720
Original Release: 2005
Rating: NR
Source: Rlj Entertainment
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:00:00
Sales rank: 62,974

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Introduction - James Avery [1:04]
2. Black Judgement - Nikki Giovanni [:28]
3. Dance With Your Sons - Geoffrey Holder [3:45]
4. Do What You've Got to Do - Vernon Jordan [4:22]
5. I'm Interested in the World - Lerone Bennett, Jr. [3:28]
6. My Brother - Dr. Alvin F. Poussaint [8:04]
7. I Don't Have to Settle for This - Terry McMillan [4:58]
8. They Knew My Music - BB King [5:48]
9. Everything Was Going to Be All Right - Angela Davis [5:12]
10. A Turning Point in My Life - Carol Moseley-Braun [4:27]
11. Show Life As it Should Be - Harry Belafonte [5:17]
12. Deserve Nothing Less Than to Be Heard - Ron Dellums [5:56]
13. Closing Credits [6:18]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews