Portrait of a Marriage

Portrait of a Marriage

Director: Stephen Whittaker Cast: Janet McTeer, David Haig, Cathryn Harrison



Adapted from the autobiographical novel by Nigel Nicolson, the four-part British miniseries Portrait of a Marriage was inspired by the marriage of convenience between Nicolson's parents, historian Harold Nicolson and novelist Vita Sackville-West (Janet McTeer). Although the elder Nicolson was homosexual, his wife Vita was not only forgiving, but also obliging when he strayed from home and hearth to pursue partners of his own gender. After all, Vita was herself embroiled in a torrid -- and ultimately tragic -- affair with one Violet Keppel (Cathryn Harrison). The winner of a BAFTA award for Best Costume Design (Dinah Collin), Portrait of a Marriage was telecast in Britain and New Zealand in 1990, and in the United States two years later.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/30/2006
UPC: 0054961825394
Original Release: 1990
Rating: NR
Source: Acorn Media
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 3:39:00

Special Features

Vita Sackville-West bio Cast filmographies

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Janet McTeer Vita Sackwille-West
David Haig Harold Nicolson
Cathryn Harrison Violet Keppel Trefusis
Diana Fairfax Lady Sackville
Peter Birch Denys Trefusis
Sandra Clark Nanny
Harry Audley Chauffeur
Stefan Schwartz Phillip
Madelaine Newton Mrs. Millican
Christopher Walker Ben Nicolson
Alexander Peace Ingel Nicolson

Technical Credits
Stephen Whittaker Director
Dick Allen Editor
Dinah Collin Costumes/Costume Designer
David Feig Cinematographer
Penelope Mortimer Teleplay
Barrington Pheloung Score Composer
Colin Tucker Producer
Stuart Walker Production Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Portrait of a Marriage, Vol. 1
1. Unexpected Call [7:42]
2. Dress Up [8:50]
3. Confession [13:21]
4. Violet [13:19]
5. Early Arrival [11:04]
1. In Disguise [8:19]
2. Dinner Talk [6:51]
3. Captain Trefusis [7:45]
4. A Man's Woman [10:31]
5. Three's a Crowd [5:57]
6. Family Pressures [14:28]
Disc #2 -- Portrait of a Marriage, Vol. 2
1. Welcome Home [9:45]
2. Escape Plan [6:35]
3. On Leave [15:34]
4. Broken Promise [7:54]
5. Abducted [12:46]
1. No Guarantees [7:42]
2. Is It Over? [7:02]
3. Meeting With Denys [10:06]
4. Travel Partners [12:08]
5. Fighting Words [15:59]
6. Dear Violet [5:07]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews