Pray TV

Pray TV

Director: Robert Markowitz Cast: Lois Areno, Ned Beatty, Jason Bernard


$19.12 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.12, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


The made-for-television Pray TV was the subject for hot debate long before its February 1, 1982 debut. This even-handed exploration of the televangelism business stars Ned Beatty as the Reverend Freddy Stone, whose religious empire nets $3 million annually. John Ritter co-stars as Rev. Tom McPherson, a newly ordained clergyman who joins the Stone operation. As Ritter begins to question the religious ethics behind Stone's lucrative ministry, a subplot develops involving Reverend Gus Keffer (Richard Kiley), who in contrast to Stone must operate on a shoestring, minus the glittery trappings of TV, radio, and SRO revival meetings. Lane Slate's teleplay takes great pains to offend no one; whether this is good or bad is up to you. Pray TV bears no relation to the earlier theatrical-feature comedy of the same name.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/02/2019
UPC: 0738329232740
Original Release: 1982
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:40:00
Sales rank: 52,167

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lois Areno Bobbi Ellis
Ned Beatty Reverend Freddy Stone
Jason Bernard Everett
Frank Birney Johnson
Michael Currie Artie Allman
Richard Kiley Reverend Gus Keiffer
John Ritter Tom McPherson
Dana Halsted Louise
James Keane Fats
Richard Kennedy Announcer
Louise Latham Mrs. Oakes
Duncan McLeod Guard
Herb Mitchell Guard
James O'Connell Actor
Jonathan Prince Bill Oakes
Kurt Smildsin Actor
Madolyn Smith Liz Oakes
Kenneth Tigar Parker
Mel Tormé Himself

Technical Credits
Robert Markowitz Director
Don Birnkrant Cinematographer
Tracy Bousman Production Designer
Peter S. Greenberg Score Composer,Producer
Dennis McCarthy Score Composer
Peter Parasheles Editor
Erica Phillips Costumes/Costume Designer
Lane Slate Teleplay

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Pray TV
255. Chapters
1. Chapter 1 [14:59]
2. Chapter 2 [13:02]
3. Chapter 3 [11:42]
4. Chapter 4 [9:29]
5. Chapter 5 [10:23]
6. Chapter 6 [10:26]
7. Chapter 7 [10:04]
8. Chapter 8 [15:46]
9. Chapter 9 [:00]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews