Soundtrack for a Revolution

Soundtrack for a Revolution

Director: Bill Guttentag, Dan Sturman Cast: John Lewis, Harry Belafonte

DVD (Black & White)


Soundtrack for a Revolution takes a look at the American civil rights movement, focusing on the role that music -- spirituals and protest songs -- played, as the backdrop and the inspiration for the pickets, sit-ins, and demonstrations of the turbulent era. Directors Bill Guttentag and Dan Sturman, whose previous documentary looked at the Japanese Army's atrocities against the Chinese people in Nanking, here blend images from the time and interviews with participants with new footage of contemporary artists performing the inspirational songs. Interviewees include Harry Belafonte, John Lewis, Andrew Young, and Julian Bond, and the documentary includes performances by John Legend, Joss Stone, and Angie Stone. The film examines such pivotal moments as the Montgomery bus boycott, the March on Washington, and the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King. Through old footage and interviews, spirituals like "Wade in the Water" and "We Shall Not Be Moved," and folk songs like Phil Ochs' "Here's to the State of Mississippi" are each connected to specific aspects or moments of the movement. Danny Glover was the executive producer of the film. Soundtrack for a Revolution had its world premiere at the 2009 Tribeca Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2010
UPC: 0767685225103
Original Release: 2009
Rating: NR
Source: New Video Group
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:22:00

Special Features

Full Musical Performances from John Legend, Wyclef Jean, Joss Stone, Mary Mary, Blind Boys Of Alabama & Anthony Hamilton, Richie Havens, The Roots and Angie Stone; ; Two Bonus Musical Performances from the Carlton Reese Memorial Unity Choir; Deleted Scenes and Interviews; Behind-the-Scenes Photo Gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Lewis Participant
Harry Belafonte Participant
Julian Bond Participant
Andrew Young Participant
Blind Boys of Alabama Actor
Angie Stone Actor
Joss Stone Actor
Carlton Reese Memorial Unity Choir Actor
Mary Mary Actor
Wyclef Jean Actor
Richie Havens Actor
Roots Actor
Anthony Hamilton Actor
John Legend Actor

Technical Credits
Bill Guttentag Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Dan Sturman Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Mihal Arguetty Associate Producer
Joslyn Barnes Producer
Peter Buffett Associate Producer
Jennifer Buffett Associate Producer
Jim Czarnecki Producer
Jeffrey Doe Editor
William Douglass Associate Producer
Mark E. Downie Executive Producer
Jon Else Cinematographer
Lindsay Gillette Associate Producer
Danny Glover Executive Producer
Gina Harrell Executive Producer
Marc Henry Johnson Executive Producer
Stephen Kazmierski Cinematographer
Jarrett Lilien Executive Producer
Phillip Marshall Score Composer
Lauren McCauley Associate Producer
Julia Mintz Associate Producer
Dylan Nelson Producer
Beverly Oden Co-producer
Mark Roy Sound/Sound Designer
Corey Smyth Score Composer
Buddy Squires Cinematographer
Agnes Varis Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Soundtrack for a Revolution
1. Beginnings [6:46]
2. Wade in the Water [6:29]
3. Everybody Says Freedom [6:11]
4. Which Side Are You On? [6:08]
5. Don't You Hinder Me [5:33]
6. Reign Freedom [5:21]
7. I'm On My Way [4:15]
8. Here's to the State of Mississippi [12:00]
9. Marching Up to Freedom Land [7:29]
10. Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me 'Round [8:35]
11. Stayed On Freedom [10:14]
12. We Shall Overcome (End Credits) [3:07]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews