View All Available Formats & Editions


Adam Fields (John Carlos Frey, who also wrote, directed, and produced the film) is a law enforcement agent patrolling the Mexican border outside San Diego. He's harboring two dangerous secrets. His bosses don't know that he belongs to a racist, right wing vigilante group called National Patrol, that harasses and assaults illegals as they try to cross the border. His confederates in the National Patrol don't know that his own mother is Mexican. Adam, who easily passes for Caucasian, doesn't tell anyone about his mother, a former prostitute. Frustrated with the border patrol's efforts to curtail border crossings, Adam and the shock jock leader of National Patrol, Jack Green (J. Patrick McCormack), come up with a scheme to embarrass the border patrol into taking their concerns more seriously. Adam will go undercover as a Mexican and cross the border into the states to show how easy it is, while capturing everything on a hidden video camera. Adam pays to be brought over, but once in the U.S., the scheme goes horribly awry, and Adam winds up stuck with a hapless group of illegals, forced to work for ruthless criminals at a crystal meth lab. Unable to escape, he gets a firsthand look at the hardships the illegal immigrants endure. Frey tried to sell his script for The Gatekeeper to a Hollywood studio, but, unwilling to compromise his vision, eventually decided to finance the film himself. The Gatekeeper was shown at the 2002 Urbanworld Film Festival and at the 2002 Santa Barbara International Film Festival, where it won the Phoenix Award.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/06/2010
UPC: 0814838010328
Original Release: 2002
Rating: R
Source: Screen Media
Time: 1:43:00

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Gatekeeper
1. Opening Credits [8:54]
2. One More Video [8:46]
3. Happy 4th Of July [7:04]
4. We Got Movement [7:46]
5. It's Going To Be Okay [8:12]
6. How To Make Rock [8:27]
7. Fresh Air [7:57]
8. Help The Pain [7:41]
9. Where Is Juan? [7:25]
10. Very Sick [15:05]
11. I Can Explain [11:32]
12. Ending Credits [3:53]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews