The Hurricane Express [Serial]

The Hurricane Express [Serial]

Director: J.P. McGowan, J.P. Morgan, Armand Schaefer
Cast: John Wayne


$9.40 $9.99 Save 6% Current price is $9.4, Original price is $9.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


The second of two projected John Wayne serials produced by genre expert Mascot Pictures, this film used the budget-saving device of having its master criminal wearing variously fiendish rubber masks, offering him the opportunity to resemble every red herring in the large cast. Known only as "The Wrecker" ("That's him, The Wrecker!" people continuously scream throughout the serial), the villain is attempting to sabotage the L. & R. Railroad in order to bolster a competing airline service. Wayne plays a commercial pilot whose father, the railroad's chief engineer (J. Farrell MacDonald), is murdered early on. Shirley Grey, as the daughter of a railroad man falsely accused of sabotage, is the damsel-in-distress (although, despite some poster art, she is never actually tied to the tracks), and Tully Marshall plays the president of the railroad. As Wayne had no drawing power whatsoever in 1932, Marshall, a veteran from the early silent era, was actually given star billing along with Conway Tearle, who portrayed the little seen company lawyer. The Hurricane Express survives in a truncated 70-minute feature version, a screening of which actually feels like watching an entire serial in one sitting. The serial was co-directed by J.P. McGowan, a veteran actor-director who had begun his long love affair with railroad themes directing his then-wife Helen Holmes in The Hazards of Helen (1915).

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/2015
UPC: 0644827334827
Original Release: 1932
Source: Reel Vault
Sales rank: 27,320

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Wayne Larry Baker
Shirley Grey Gloria Martin/Gloria Stratton
Tully Marshall Mr. Edwards
Conway Tearle Steven
John Farrell MacDonald Jim Baker
Matthew Betz Jordan
Lloyd Whitlock Walter Gray
Edmund Breese Stratton
Glenn Strange Jim
Al Ferguson Sandy
James P. Burtis Hemingway
Joseph W. Girard Matthews
Al Bridge Carlson
Ernie S. Adams Barney
Charles King Mike

Technical Credits
J.P. McGowan Director
J.P. Morgan Director
Armand Schaefer Director
Colbert Clark Screenwriter
Nat Levine Producer
Ernest W. Miller Cinematographer
George Morgan Screenwriter
Barney A. Sarecky Screenwriter
Ray Snyder Editor
Carl Wester Cinematographer
Lee Zahler Score Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews