The Sea Wolf

The Sea Wolf

Director: Michael Curtiz Cast: Edward G. Robinson, Ida Lupino, John Garfield

DVD (Full Frame)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


The fifth film version of Jack London's The Sea Wolf stars Edward G. Robinson as "premature fascist" Wolf Larsen. The captain of the scavenger ship Ghost, Larsen is a heartless tyrant who can tolerate no sign of weakness in anyone. "Better to reign in Hell than serve in Heaven" is Larsen's philosophy (borrowed from the character of Satan in Milton's Paradise Lost), and accordingly he reigns over his hellish vessel in true satanic fashion. Idealistic writer Humphrey Van Weyden (Alexander Knox) and fugitive from justice Ruth Webster (Ida Lupino) are picked up by the Ghost when their ferryboat capsizes. Realizing that their chances of getting off the boat alive are nil, Van Weyden and Ruth conspire with embittered cabin boy Leach (John Garfield) to escape. They drift in a small open boat for days, only to return to the Ghost, which has apparently been scuttled by the mutinous crew. Larsen has gone blind, but refuses to allow his crew to learn this fact, forcing Van Weyden at gunpoint to perpetuate the illusion that Larsen can still see. Ultimately, the Ghost sinks beneath the waves, carrying Larsen and Van Weyden to their doom ("This is the end of Superman!" cries Van Weyden as the ocean envelops him); Ruth and Leach manage to save themselves, rowing toward the safety of a nearby island -- and hopefully escaping to a new life. The 1941 Sea Wolf would not be the last cinematic adaptation of London's novel; multiple versions have since been produced for both film and television.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2017
UPC: 0888574422226
Original Release: 1941
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:40:00
Sales rank: 6,390

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Edward G. Robinson Wolf Larsen
Ida Lupino Ruth Webster
John Garfield George Leach
Alexander Knox Humphrey van Weyden
Gene Lockhart Dr. Louie Prescott
Barry Fitzgerald Cooky
Stanley Ridges Johnson
David Bruce Young Sailor
Francis McDonald Swenson
Howard Da Silva Harrison
Frank Lackteen Smoke
Ethan Laidlaw Actor
Louis Mason Crewman
Wilfred Lucas Helmsman
Ralf Harolde Agent
Dutch Hendrian Crewman
Cliff Clark 1st detective
William Gould Detective
Charles Sullivan 1st Mate
George Magrill Crewman
Ernie S. Adams Pickpocket

Technical Credits
Michael Curtiz Director
George J. Amy Editor
Henry Blanke Associate Producer
Anton Grot Art Director
Byron Haskin Special Effects
H.F. Koenekamp Special Effects
Erich Wolfgang Korngold Score Composer
Sol Polito Cinematographer
Robert Rossen Screenwriter
Hal B. Wallis Producer
Jack L. Warner Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Sea Wolf
1. Chapter 1 [1:05]
2. Chapter 2 [:39]
3. Chapter 3 [2:53]
4. Chapter 4 [2:33]
5. Chapter 5 [:34]
6. Chapter 6 [2:35]
7. Chapter 7 [2:24]
8. Chapter 8 [1:30]
9. Chapter 9 [7:07]
10. Chapter 10 [5:24]
11. Chapter 11 [6:09]
12. Chapter 12 [5:13]
13. Chapter 13 [6:52]
14. Chapter 14 [4:18]
15. Chapter 15 [4:02]
16. Chapter 16 [4:09]
17. Chapter 17 [5:40]
18. Chapter 18 [3:20]
19. Chapter 19 [3:48]
20. Chapter 20 [4:15]
21. Chapter 21 [3:26]
22. Chapter 22 [2:41]
23. Chapter 23 [3:13]
24. Chapter 24 [3:13]
25. Chapter 25 [3:22]
26. Chapter 26 [7:43]
27. Chapter 27 [1:26]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews