The Seven-Per-Cent Solution

The Seven-Per-Cent Solution

Director: Herbert Ross Cast: Alan Arkin, Vanessa Redgrave, Robert Duvall

Blu-ray (Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18


Nicholas Meyer based his screenplay for the "retro" Sherlock Holmes adventure The Seven Percent Solution on his own best-selling novel. As any Baker Street Irregular will tell you, the title refers to the dosage of cocaine taken by Sherlock Holmes (Nicol Williamson). The Great Detective's friend and chronicler Doctor Watson (Robert Duvall), concerned that Holmes' drug dependency is getting out of hand, suggests a cure under the auspices of Viennese psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud (top-billed Alan Arkin). While undergoing treatment, Holmes comes to the realization that his archival Professor Moriarty (Laurence Olivier) is not the Napoleon of Crime, but instead a somewhat pathetic philanderer. Not yet completely cured, Holmes recharges his deductive batteries by undertaking a tricky conspiracy case involving another ex-addict, beautiful actress Lola Devereaux (Vanessa Redgrave). The traditional Holmesian sleuthing and split-second rescues of the film's second half are not as innovative as the Holmes-Freud scenes at the beginning of The Seven Percent Solution, but they provide this largely cerebral effort with a rousing climax. A success with both critics and filmgoers, The Seven Percent Solution opened the floodgates for subsequent TV and movie "reprises" of Conan Doyle's immortal literary figure.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/22/2013
UPC: 0826663137859
Original Release: 1976
Rating: PG
Source: Shout Factory
Region Code: 1AB
Time: 1:53:00
Sales rank: 35,268

Special Features

Interview with Writer Nicholas Meyer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Alan Arkin Sigmund Freud
Vanessa Redgrave Lola Deveraux
Robert Duvall Dr. Watson
Nicol Williamson Sherlock Holmes
Laurence Olivier Prof. Moriarty
Joel Grey Lowenstein
Charles Gray Mycroft Holmes
Jeremy Kemp Baron Von Leinsdorf
Georgia Brown Mrs. Freud
Regine Madame
Samantha Eggar Mary Watson
Anna Quayle Freda
Jill Townsend Mrs. Holmes
John Bird Berger
Alison Leggatt Mrs. Hudson
Frederick Jaeger Marker
Erik Chitty Butler
Jack May Dr. Schultz
Gertan Klauber The Pasha
Leon Greene Squire Holmes
Michael Blagdon Young Holmes
Sheila Shand Gibbs Nun
John Hill Train Engineer
Erich Padalewski Station Master

Technical Credits
Herbert Ross Director,Producer
Ken Adam Production Designer
John Addison Score Composer
Chris Barnes Editor
Alan Barrett Costumes/Costume Designer
Peter Lamont Art Director
Gordon K. McCallum Sound/Sound Designer
Nicholas Meyer Screenwriter
Oswald Morris Cinematographer
Stanley O'Toole Associate Producer
Peter James Set Decoration/Design
William H. Reynolds Editor
Arlene Sellers Executive Producer
Stephen Sondheim Score Composer,Songwriter
Cyril Swern Sound/Sound Designer
Alex Thomson Cinematographer
Alex Winitsky Executive Producer
Scott Wodehouse Asst. Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Seven-Per-Cent Solution
1. Chapter 1 [10:21]
2. Chapter 2 [8:58]
3. Chapter 3 [14:22]
4. Chapter 4 [10:32]
5. Chapter 5 [8:40]
6. Chapter 6 [9:33]
7. Chapter 7 [7:45]
8. Chapter 8 [:00]
9. Chapter 9 [8:23]
10. Chapter 10 [10:19]
11. Chapter 11 [11:59]
12. Chapter 12 [10:43]
13. Chapter 13 [1:46]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews