The Water Babies

The Water Babies

Director: Lionel Jeffries Cast: James Mason, Billie Whitelaw, Bernard Cribbens

DVD (Pan & Scan)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Lionel Jeffries directed Water Babies, a children's fantasy based on the story by Charles Kingsley that incorporates live-action and animation in the tradition of The Incredible Mr. Limpet. In Dickensian London, a 12-year-old chimney sweep's apprentice named Tom (Tommy Pender) has to put up with his boss, Grimes (James Mason), and his heavy drinking. One day, in the home of a client, Tom is accused of stealing the silverware. Tom makes a run for it and leaps into a pool, where he comes across a collection of animated characters. While submerged he helps to rescue "water babies," children held hostage by an eel and a shark.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/04/2003
UPC: 0027616879431
Original Release: 1979
Rating: NR
Source: Mgm (Video & Dvd)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:38:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Original theatrical trailer; English mono; English, French & Spanish language subtitles

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Mason Grimes
Billie Whitelaw Mrs. Doasyouwouldbedoneby
Bernard Cribbins Masterman
Joan Greenwood Lady Harriet
David Tomlinson Sir John
Samantha Gates Ellie
Paul Luty Sladd
Tommy Pender Tom
Jon Pertwee Actor
Olive Gregg Actor
Lance Percival Actor
David Jason Actor
Una Stubbs Actor

Technical Credits
Lionel Jeffries Director
Phil Coulter Score Composer,Songwriter
Phyllis Dalton Costumes/Costume Designer
Ray Frift Asst. Director
Bill Martin Songwriter
Michael Robson Screenwriter
Edward Scaife Cinematographer
Peter Shaw Producer
Jack Stokes Animator
Peter Weatherly Editor
Herbert Westbrook Art Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Main Titles/Thomas [11:47]
2. Harthover Hall [8:06]
3. Meeting Ellie [3:21]
4. "Stop, Thief!" [11:54]
5. Try a Little Harder [6:57]
6. Rapids!/Toby [3:54]
7. High Cockalorum [2:19]
8. Terrence/High Cockalorum [3:10]
9. Trapped/He's Alive! [3:58]
10. Claude/High Cockalorum [1:54]
11. Come on In [1:21]
12. Tom's Choice [5:47]
13. Rescue [5:52]
14. High Cockalorum/Home [6:56]
15. Welcome/It's True! [9:31]
16. End Credits [5:49]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews