Director: Michael Winterbottom Cast: Shirley Henderson, Gina McKee, Molly Parker

DVD (Wide Screen)

$14.30 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.3, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21


Michael Winterbottom's stylish, engrossing look into the lives of three sisters is absolutely riveting on DVD. It's rather hard to assess the video quality, because the original print is frequently grainy. This seems to be the original intent of the director, most likely to add touches of documentary atmosphere. Fortunately the grain never becomes a distraction, as the 2.35:1 widescreen presentation allows Winterbottom to fill the screen with compelling, masterly images. When it comes to sound quality, there is a similar lack of definition, but only with dialogue. The Dolby Digital Audio actually gives powerful immediacy to the material, but some of the actors have thick, British accents, and murky audio prevents complete understanding of some patches of dialogue. Like the grainy video, the audio's lack of range would seem to be Winterbottom's intention, as it adds a huge dose of reality to the movie; in the movie, just as in life, one doesn't understand everything one hears. Michael Nyman's sweeping, Baroque score is life-affirming and dynamic in its presentation. Supplemental features are nonexistent, outside of a brief, interesting theatrical trailer and a "Chapter List," which allows instant access to the DVD's 19 chapters. Though additional supplemental material would have been valuable, Wonderland is essential viewing nonetheless.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/20/2001
UPC: 0025192125522
Original Release: 1999
Rating: R
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:49:00
Sales rank: 62,540

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Shirley Henderson Debbie
Gina McKee Nadia
Molly Parker Molly
Ian Hart Dan
John Simm Eddie
Enzo Cilenti Darren
Nathan Constance Alex
David Fahm Franklyn
Peter Marfleet Jack
Kika Markham Eileen
Sarah Jane Potts Melanie
Jack Shepherd Bill
Ellen Thomas Donna
Stuart Townsend Tim

Technical Credits
Michael Winterbottom Director
Mark Tildesley Production Designer
Michael Nyman Score Composer
Nick Laws Asst. Director
Gina Carter Co-producer
Trevor Waite Editor
David M. Thompson Executive Producer
Stewart Till Executive Producer
Michele Camarada Producer
Andrew Eaton Producer
Richard Flynn Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Chapter List
1. Sisters [12:32]
2. Mr. & Mrs. Sykes [2:31]
3. Nadia's Date [1:07]
4. Eddie's Rehearsal [5:27]
5. A Pathetic Life [2:12]
6. A Bad Girl [4:27]
7. A Day with Dad [:58]
8. Molly's Dream [5:29]
9. Dancing with Donna [2:18]
10. Dan's Little Surprise [:48]
11. The Dog Killer [10:02]
12. Sunday [:22]
13. Molly's Problems [7:53]
14. Looking for Jack [1:43]
15. The Police Station [9:41]
16. The New Parents [1:16]
17. Nadia & Franklyn [1:26]
18. End Titles [4:08]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews