Elements of Life

Elements of Life

by "Little" Louie Vega


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Louie Vega, the DJ masterworker and Masters at Work supremo, didn't record a solo full-length until nearly 20 years after his debut as a producer. (Granted, Nuyorican Soul was close to a solo album, and he also produced all of When the Night Is Over, his 1991 collaboration with Marc Anthony.) Accordingly, Vega packed 2004's Elements of Life with varying sounds, including collaborations with friends (Blaze, Ursula Rucker), a tribute to his uncle (salsero legend Hector Lavoe), and a host of fusion experiments -- Spanish Harlem by way of Puerto Rico by way of Africa -- involving musicians he's met during his long studio career. As on Nuyorican Soul, Vega begins by illustrating what a talented modern producer can do to brighten an underappreciated standard without wrecking the effect of the original; instead of Rotary Connection's "I Am the Black Gold of the Sun" Vega reworks the Chakachas' "Jungle Fever," the original ranking as a full-blush sexual escapade on the same order as Donna Summer's "I Feel Love" or Musique's "(Push, Push) In the Bush." His two tracks with Blaze might disappoint listeners expecting a miracle from this meeting of two garage legends; here, as on the majority of the record, the production has the same high sheen of Nuyorican Soul, but lacks the dynamic performances and concentrated compositions. Vocalists Raúl Midón and Anané contribute very little of interest, and Vega's touch is too smooth for the live band he invites into the studio.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/09/2004
Label: Imports
UPC: 0659240900122
catalogNumber: 0900122
Rank: 81590

Album Credits

Performance Credits

"Little" Louie Vega   Primary Artist,Ambience
Luis Bonilla   Trombone
Sonia   Crowd Noise
Lisa Fischer   Background Vocals
Domingo Quiñones   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Blaze   Guest Appearance
Tony Cintron   Drums,Background Vocals
Ray Martinez   Ampeg Baby Bass
Josh Milan   Background Vocals,Korg
Cindy Mizelle   Background Vocals
Raul Midón   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals,Chant,scat,Guest Appearance
Bill Harris   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Albert Sterling Menendez   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,Korg,fender rhodes,Soloist,Synthesizer Strings,Piano (Grand)
Ursula Rucker   Spoken Word,Guest Appearance
Ricardo Suarez   Bass
Richard Bravo   Percussion
Pedro Martinez   Percussion,Conga,Vocals,Background Vocals,Chant,Bata,cowbell,Vocal Ad-Libs
Luisito Quintero   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Timbales,Background Vocals,Guica,Surdo,Chant,Yembele
Ralphie Muniz   Ambience,Crowd Noise
Fátima Figueiredo   Crowd Noise
Carlos "El Nene" Henrique   Bass
Julie Machover   Background Vocals
Olivier Manoury   Bandoneon
Gene Perez   Bass
Armando Figueredo   Keyboards,fender rhodes
John Scarpulla   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
José Luis Pardo   Guitar,Keyboards,fender rhodes
José Rafael Torres   Bass
Anané   Vocals,Chant,Spoken Word,Crowd Noise,Guest Appearance
Papo Alicea   Conga
Dominic Canza   Guitar,Chant,Vocal Ad-Libs
Debi Nova   Background Vocals
House Of Rhumba   Ambience,Guest Appearance
Nicky La Boy   Yembele
Melanie Mednick   Background Vocals
Barrio Bob   Crowd Noise
Rebecca Boine   Crowd Noise
Alex Charlaca   Crowd Noise
Chuchi Girls   Group
Myra Delgado   Crowd Noise
Ciara Diaz   Background Vocals,Group Member
Melanie Guzman   Crowd Noise
Hector "Papote" Himinez   Tumba
Christina Marie Lopes   Background Vocals,Group Member
Jacklyn Machover   Background Vocals
Trisha Mattingly   Crowd Noise
Naya Muniz   Background Vocals,Sounds,Group Member
Travis Muniz   Sounds
Fred Rolle   Quinto
Elba Suarez   Background Vocals,Group Member
Grecia Suarez   Background Vocals,Group Member
Nico Vega   Voices,Sounds
Katie Weissman   Background Vocals
Carl Fischer   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

Willie Colón   Composer
Steven Barkan   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Dwight Brewster   Composer
Adam Cruz   Executive Producer,Art Direction
Dave Darlington   Engineer
Josh Milan   Composer
"Little" Louie Vega   Composer,Sound Effects,Producer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer,Art Direction
Luis Vega   Composer
Albert Sterling Menendez   Composer,Programming,Producer
Ursula Rucker   Composer
Dimitri from Paris   translation
Kenny Dope   drum programming
Pedro Martinez   Composer
Ralphie Muniz   Composer,Sound Effects,Producer,Engineer
MASA   Cover Design
Armando Figueredo   Composer
José Luis Pardo   Composer
Kevin Hedge   Composer
Frank Socorro   Engineer
Anané   Digital Photography
House Of Rhumba   Sound Effects

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews