Everything Everytime Everywhere

Everything Everytime Everywhere

by Trevor Hall



Produced by Jimmy Messer (Kelly Clarkson), South Carolina singer/songwriter Trevor Hall's fourth studio album, Everything Everytime Everywhere, moves further away from the acoustic roots reggae sound that saw him initially labeled as the dreadlocked Jack Johnson. The follow-up to 2009's self-titled effort is still drenched in the sounds of the summer, whether it's the lilting beachside pop of opener "The Return," the hushed stripped-back folk of "Te Amo," or the jaunty "Different Hunger," which blends infectious ska beats, carnival-style brass, and children's chanting before merging into a chilled-out slice of reggae-blues, while the universal themes of love and acceptance remain his dominant ideology. But its 11 tracks are slightly more polished than his previous output, an approach that might draw in those intrigued by his Shrek 3 soundtrack contribution, "Other Ways," but one that sometimes sits at odds with his gutsy and impassioned vocals. Indeed, the dirty basslines, nagging rock & roll riffs, and guest vocal from Jamaican dancehall artist Cherine Anderson on "Fire," the country-tinged guitar twangs and handclaps of closer "The Mountain," and the grungy rap of "Dr. Seuss," which owes more than a nod to touring partner Matisyahu (whose former guitarist Aaron Dugan appears here), all successfully experiment without ever compromising his rootsy sound. But the formulaic Matchbox Twenty-esque alt-rock of "Brand New Day" and "The Love Wouldn't Die" sound like calculated efforts to score that elusive radio-friendly crossover hit, removing any traces of Hall's personality in the process. But despite the odd lapses into generic territory, it's difficult to resist the uplifting charms of a heartfelt and sun-kissed record that oozes optimism from every pore.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/23/2011
Label: Vanguard Records
UPC: 0015707815123
catalogNumber: 78151

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Trevor Hall   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Readings
Carlos Sosa   Saxophone
Reggie Watkins   Trombone
Jimmy Messer   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Peter Adams   Keyboards
Grooveline Horns   Horn,Horn Engineer
Jeff Bhasker   Keyboards
Laura Jane   Background Vocals
Chris Steele   Drums
Aaron Dugan   Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Aaron Sterling   Drums
Brian Lang   Bass
Shea Chambers   Background Vocals
Wendy Smith-Brune   Background Vocals
Fernando Castillo   Trumpet
Swami Virajananda Maharaj   Spoken Word

Technical Credits

Trevor Hall   Composer,Engineer
Georgette Cartwright   Creation
Jimmy Messer   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Chris Steele   Composer
Aaron Dugan   Composer
Carrie Smith   Art Direction
Brian Lang   Composer
Dave Lichens   Composer
Paul Stepanek   Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews