First Light

First Light

by Easy Star All-Stars


View All Available Formats & Editions


After covering the Pink Floyd, Radiohead, and Beatles songbooks, Easy Star All-Stars finally get around to their first full-length album of original songs with First Light, a satisfying set of jam band reggae with its feet firmly planted in roots culture. The woozy, nighttime Rasta track "Easy Now Star" with special guests the Meditations is a top-shelf version of the modern roots number, while "All the Way" is lover's rock in a "Breakfast in Bed" style, matching that classic Lorna Bennett tune on the sensuality scale. Smoker's songs are an easy score for this group, but "One Likkle Draw" is still truly inspired, and when it comes to reggae-pop, "Unbelievable," with Easy Star Records labelmate Cas Haley, shows how to go sunshine without getting too sugary. The dub stuck on the end of the album is the kind of druggy journey in space you'd expect from this top-notch studio crew, and anyone who has seen the group live will enjoy having plenty of vocals from Joanne Williams and Kirsty Rock for their home and headphones. Fourteen tracks that flow by without a hitch prove that this reggae crew has plenty to offer past the tribute album.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/05/2011
Label: Easy Star
UPC: 0657481102527
catalogNumber: 1025

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Easy Star All-Stars   Primary Artist
Jenny Hill   Saxophone
Joanne Williams   Vocals,Background Vocals
Buford O'Sullivan   Trombone
Ivan Katz   Percussion,Drums
Michael Goldwasser   Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals,Clavinet,Synthesizer Bass
Shaul Eshet   Keyboards
Kirsty Rock   Vocals,Background Vocals
Shelton Garner   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Menny More   Vocals,Background Vocals
Michael Avgil   Drums
Oded Meir   Trombone
Pam Fleming   Trumpet
Gavriel Friesem   Percussion
Amit Sagie   Guitar
Shlomi Alon   Saxophone
Sefi Zisling   Trumpet
Nadav Barak   Bass
Justin Filmer   Bass
Elenna Canlas   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Melodica,Synthesizer Bass
Renard Shy   Bass
Cliff Simpson   Drums

Technical Credits

Jenny Hill   Horn Arrangements
B. Smith   Composer
Eric Smith   Executive Producer,Concept
Paul Schellack   Engineer
Ivan Katz   Composer,Programming
Michael Goldwasser   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer
Lem Oppenheimer   Executive Producer,Concept
Remy Gerstein   Executive Producer
W. Morris   Composer
J. Morrison   Composer
Miki Bornstein   Engineer
Justin Filmer   Programming
Mark Hopkins   Artwork,Concept

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews