The Folk Den Project

The Folk Den Project

by Roger McGuinn


Roger McGuinn began his career as a folksinger/guitarist and he has never lost his love of the music. In 1995, he launched the Folk Den project on his website, making free downloads available of folk songs he recorded, along with lyrics and a little background on each number and what was special about it to him. He decided to re-record them in higher fidelity for commercial issue, producing this four-CD set with 100 tracks and over four and a half hours of music. Known primarily for his work on the 12-string electric Rickenbacker guitar, McGuinn also plays banjo and Fender bass, plus six-, seven-, and 12-string acoustic Martin guitar, while often overdubbing a second instrument and harmony vocals. Like any good folk musician, McGuinn carries on the tradition of adapting the melodies and lyrics in his own way, so familiar songs may sound a bit different than one remembers them. This valuable collection includes sea shanties, Christmas carols, spirituals, blues, and hymns along with traditional folk tunes that originated in the U.S. and Europe. Among the unusual arrangements are the Scottish tune "Wild Mountain Thyme" (played with a reggae beat!) and the spiritual "Oh Freedom," which preserves the sound of thunder taped during its performance in the studio. This collection is excellent for introducing anyone young or old to a variety of folk music, while longtime fans of Roger McGuinn will consider it to be an essential purchase.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/05/2005
Label: Cd Baby
UPC: 0783707198705
catalogNumber: 19870


  1. When the Saints Go Marching In
  2. Follow the Drinking Gourd
  3. Mighty Day
  4. Gypsy Rover
  5. On Top of Old Smokey
  6. Easter Morn
  7. Dink's Song
  8. Boatman
  9. Brandy Leave Me Alone
  10. Banks of the Ohio
  11. 12 Gates to the City
  12. Ain't No Mo Cane on de Brasis
  13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
  14. All My Trials
  15. Cindy
  16. The Colorado Trail
  17. Cumberland Mountain Bear Chase
  18. Alabama Bound
  19. Bring Me Water, Sylvie
  20. Go Tell Aunt Rhodie
  21. Makes a Long Time Man Feel Bad
  22. Spanish Is a Loving Tongue
  23. Erie Canal
  24. Springfield Mountain
  25. Old Paint
  26. Rubin Ranzo
  27. Silver Dagger 2
  28. Oh Freedom
  29. Railroad Bill
  30. East Virginia
  31. Coffee Grows on White Oak Trees
  32. So Early in the Spring
  33. Golden Vanity
  34. Down by the Riverside
  35. Buffalo Skinners
  36. Waltzing Matilda
  37. The Riddle Song
  38. Virgin Mary
  39. The Handsome Cabin Boy
  40. Ezekiel Saw a Wheel
  41. Heave Away
  42. Oh Mary Don't You Weep
  43. Red River Valley
  44. Brisbane Ladies
  45. Battle Hymn of the Republic
  46. Old Texas
  47. Rock Island Line
  48. Wagoner's Lad
  49. Hole in the Bucket
  50. Wild Goose
  51. To Morrow
  52. James Alley Blues
  53. The Cruel War
  54. Wayfaring Stranger
  55. Pushboat
  56. America for Me
  57. Old Riley
  58. Finnegan's Wake
  59. Pretty Saro
  60. Catch the Greenland Whale
  61. Drunken Sailor
  62. Lost Jimmy Whalen
  63. The First Noel
  64. Get Along Little Doggies
  65. Roddy McCorley
  66. He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
  67. Haul Away Joe
  68. John the Revelator
  69. Sail Away Lady
  70. Delia's Gone
  71. Spanish Ladies
  72. Trouble in Mind
  73. Wildwood Flower
  74. Away in a Manger
  75. The Cold Cold Coast of Greenland
  76. Salty Dog Blues
  77. Wanderin'
  78. The Argonaut
  79. Lilly of the West
  80. Michael Row the Boat Ashore
  81. Stewball
  82. Let the Bullgine Run
  83. The Gallows Pole
  84. The John B's Sails
  85. Willie Moore
  86. St. James Infirmary
  87. Kilgary Mountain
  88. The Twelve Days of Christmas
  89. Wild Mountain Thyme
  90. New York Girls
  91. Streets of Laredo
  92. Mary Had a Baby
  93. The House of the Rising Sun
  94. Greenland Whale Fisheries
  95. Shenandoah 9
  96. The Bonny Ship the Diamond
  97. Sailor Lad
  98. This Train
  99. Liverpool Gals

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews