Freak Magnet [Bonus Tracks]

Freak Magnet [Bonus Tracks]

by Violent Femmes

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

$7.41 $8.99 Save 18% Current price is $7.41, Original price is $8.99. You Save 18%. View All Available Formats & Editions


The Violent Femmes' first album of new material to be released in the U.S. since 1994's muddled New Times (not counting the 1995 Australian release Rock!!!!!, reissued stateside in 1998), Freak Magnet is a pleasant surprise in its focus and consistency, marking yet another return to the group's folk-punk roots -- the punk side of the equation in particular. Gordon Gano plays electric guitar for much (though not all) of the record, turning in a series of concise, catchy pop nuggets punctuated by a romp through free jazz saxophonist Albert Ayler's R&B tune "New Generation." Although Freak Magnet doesn't really break new ground for the Femmes, it's a neat encapsulation of the most effective variations on their signature sound, featuring misfit anthems (the title track, "I'm Bad"), plaintive heartache ballads ("All I Want"), thrashy punk-pop ("Sleepwalkin'," "Mosh Pit"), gospel ("Rejoice and Be Happy"), and folk-pop ("Forbidden"). There's a bit of filler here, but it's agreeable and good-humored, and the memorable moments outweigh it by a wide margin. Freak Magnet isn't really an artistic rebirth for the Femmes, but it is a good, solid album and a welcome return to form. [In 2005 Shout Factory reissued Freak Magnet with the live bonus tracks "Rejoice and Be Happy," "Freak Magnet," and "Positively 4th Street."]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/24/2005
Label: Shout Factory
UPC: 0826663068221
catalogNumber: 30682

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Violent Femmes   Primary Artist
Brian Ritchie   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Shakuhachi,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Gordon Gano   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Guy Hoffman   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Pierre Henry   Producer,Engineer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Brian Ritchie   Engineer,Cover Design
Violent Femmes   Audio Production
Albert Ayler   Composer
Martin Brass   Engineer
Warren A. Bruleigh   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Gordon Gano   Composer,Liner Notes
Tom Grimley   Producer,Engineer
David Vartanian   Cover Design
Bill Emmons   Engineer
Darren Brown   Management
Shawn Amos   Reissue Producer
William Carlos Williams   Composer
Rose Marie McCoy   Composer
John Roberts   Artwork
Jeff Palo   Producer
Mary Maria Parks   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews