From Qajar to Pahlavi: Iran, 1919-1930

From Qajar to Pahlavi: Iran, 1919-1930

by Mohammad Gholi Majd


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


The 1920s saw the creation of numerous new monarchies and regimes in the Middle East. This book gives a detailed history of the new regime change in Iran in the 1920s. Using U.S. State Department archives, Mohammad Gholi Majd first describes the overthrow of the Qajar dynasty, which ruled Iran since the 1790s, and its replacement by the Pahlavi monarchy in 1925. He then describes the consolidation of the new regime and suppression of the opposition between 1926 and 1930. By 1931, resistance to the Pahlavi regime and the harsh response thereto set the stage for a long struggle between the Pahlavi monarchy and the Ulama that ended with the Islamic Revolution in 1979. This book is the first detailed and documented history of Iran during 1919-1930 in the English language.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780761840299
Publisher: UPA
Publication date: 02/21/2008
Pages: 466
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 3 Months

About the Author

Mohammad Gholi Majd holds a Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics from Cornell University. He is the author of The Great Famine and Genocide in Persia, 1917-1919 and Iraq in World War I, both from University Press of America.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Introduction and Overview Chapter 2 The Anglo-Persian Convention Chapter 3 Resignation and Flight of Vossough-ed Dowleh Chapter 4 Prelude to Coup d'Etat: cabinets of Moshir-ed-Dowleh and Sepahdar Chapter 5 Coup d'Etat and Onset of Military Dictatorship Chapter 6 Kaleidoscopic Ministries and the Strengthening of Dictatorship, 1921-1923 Chapter 7 The "Republican Movement" and the Imbrie Murder Chapter 8 The "Liberation" of Arabistan Chapter 9 The Regency Affair Chapter 10 Abolition of Qajar Monarchy and the Advent of Reza Shah Pahlavi Chapter 11 A Shaky Throne: Corruption, Mutiny, Rebellion and Assassination Plot Chapter 12 An Oppressive Dictatorship, 1926-1928: Rising Unpopularity of Reza Shah Chapter 13 Waging War on the Shia Clergy Chapter 14 Waging War on the Tribes Chapter 15 An Expanded Reign of Terror Part 16 Index

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews