Future's Past

Future's Past

by Dave Mason


$13.20 $14.99 Save 12% Current price is $13.2, Original price is $14.99. You Save 12%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


In the six years since his last offering, the excellent 26 Letters 12 Notes, Dave Mason & Traffic Jam -- his road band -- have toured exhaustively, playing a wide range of material from his long career as well as new songs. Future's Past is a studio document that represents their various interpretations of that material and, just as the live show, it reflects songs he's played since his time with Traffic in the late '60s. The opening read of "Dear Mr. Fantasy" reveals how the tune's arrangement has shifted in his oeuvre since that time; "World in Changes" is now a faux reggae number; while "As Sad and Deep as You," with its nuevo flamenco intro, reveals that Mason has broadened his musical horizons -- and that he remains in excellent voice as a singer. "You Can All Join In" walks the line between the Kinks' post-Village Green-era pop jauntiness and Delaney & Bonnie's R&B influence. Mason also reminds us that his first real love was playing the Delta blues, as the rowdy reading of Robert Johnson's "Come on in My Kitchen" attests. Closer "That's Freedom" is the lone new song here. It's a brooding rocker that reveals Mason's guitar chops are sharp as ever. Future's Past is fun, but it's an album for dedicated fans only. At this stage, however, what Mason recording wouldn't be?

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2014
Label: Something-Music
UPC: 0274653786271
catalogNumber: 10042
Rank: 13058

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Mason   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Warren Hill   Saxophone
Alvino Bennett   Drums
Tal Bergman   Drums
Joe Bonamassa   Electric Guitar
Mike Finnegan   Organ,Keyboards,Background Vocals
George Hawkins   Bass
Gerald Johnson   Bass
Bill Mason   Organ,Keyboards
Carmine Rojas   Bass
John Sambataro   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Renato Neto   Organ,Bass,Keyboards
Bob Corritore   Harmonica
Dave Palmer   Organ,Keyboards
Jonathan McEuen   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Alex Drizos   Bass
Bill Reynolds   Bass
Jason Roller   Guitar,Background Vocals
Suzanne Paris   Background Vocals
Ken Eros   Drums
Tony Patler   Organ,Bass,Keyboards,Background Vocals
T.J. Russell   Drums,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jim Capaldi   Composer
Dave Mason   Composer,Producer
Graham Nash   Cover Art
Steve Winwood   Composer
Chris Jensen   Graphic Design,Sleeve Design
Ken Eros   Engineer
Chris Wood   Composer
Matt Linesch   Engineer
T.J. Russell   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews