Game of My Life Chicago Bears: Memorable Stories of Bears Football

Game of My Life Chicago Bears: Memorable Stories of Bears Football

by Lew Freedman

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Since their founding in 1919, the Chicago Bears have carried the hearts and souls of football fans throughout the country. Now supporters of one of the NFL’s most storied franchises will go into the locker room and onto the turf with over twenty Bears legends in Game of My Life Chicago Bears. In this newly revised edition, sportswriter Lew Freedman opens the doors to players’ private remembrances of how it was and how they reacted to the spotlight. Big touchdowns, career-making moments, and championship glory shared all come to the surface for Bears of the past half-century. Readers will hear tales from Hall of Famers such as Dick Butkus, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Stan Jones, and so many more. Within these pages, Chicago gridiron greats offer glimpses of the National Football League in the 1950s, the 1960s, and right up through present-day play. More than sixty years of Bears experience is represented in this collection of tales told by the men who lived through some of the most memorable moments in franchise history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781613213803
Publisher: Sports Publishing LLC
Publication date: 11/13/2012
Series: Game of My Life
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 256
File size: 6 MB
Age Range: 12 - 18 Years

About the Author

Lew Freedman is the author of nearly sixty books on sports, including Clouds over the Goalpost, The Original Six, and A Summer to Remember, and is the winner of more than 250 journalism awards. A veteran sportswriter, Freedman was formerly a staff writer for the Chicago Tribune and Philadelphia Inquirer, as well as other papers, and lives in Columbus, Indiana.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Introduction xi

Chapter 1 Dick Butkus 1

Chapter 2 Harlon Hill 10

Chapter 3 Rick Casares 17

Chapter 4 Mike Ditka 26

Chapter 5 Stan Jones 36

Chapter 6 Doug Atkins 43

Chapter 7 Richie Petitbon 53

Chapter 8 J.C. Caroline 61

Chapter 9 Rosey Taylor 69

Chapter 10 Joe Fortunato 77

Chapter 11 Gale Sayers 85

Chapter 12 Doug Buffone 93

Chapter 13 Matt Suhey 99

Chapter 14 Gary Fencik 108

Chapter 15 Emery Moorehead 116

Chapter 16 Kevin Butler 125

Chapter 17 Tom Thayer 134

Chapter 18 Mike Singletary 141

Chapter 19 Richard Dent 150

Chapter 20 Tim Wrightman 156

Chapter 21 Jay Hilgenberg 164

Chapter 22 Keith Van Horne 171

Chapter 23 Willie Gault 178

Chapter 24 Jim Harbaugh 185

Chapter 25 Dan Jiggetts 193

Chapter 26 Erik Kramer 201

Chapter 27 Jerry Azumah 20

Chapter 28 Brian Urlacher 216

Chapter 29 Tom Waddle 226

Chapter 30 Alex Brown 230

Chapter 28 Desmond Clark 234

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Game of My Life: Chicago Bears: Memorable Stories of Bears Football 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book