Grease [The Soundtrack from the Motion Picture] [LP]

Grease [The Soundtrack from the Motion Picture] [LP]

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$33.24 $34.99 Save 5% Current price is $33.24, Original price is $34.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


"Grease" was a huge success as a Broadway musical prior to hitting the big screen in 1978. That was the version that transformed "Grease" into a phenomenon -- it was a runaway box office success, and then became a TV, cable, and video favorite. The soundtrack rivaled its film counterpart as a pop culture perennial, and it's not hard to see why -- its good-natured pastiche of doo wop and early rock & roll is infectious and charming, due in no small part to John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John's charismatic, engaging performances. They sing the majority of the originals -- "Summer Nights," "Hopelessly Devoted to You," "You're the One That I Want," "Sandy," "Greased Lightnin'" -- which were the reason why the film and soundtrack became blockbusters. The fact that the originals hold up better than the '50s tunes is largely due to Sha Na Na's workmanlike performances, but the originals are so giddily enjoyable -- not only the quintet mentioned above, but also Frankie Avalon's "Beauty School Dropout," Stockard Channing's "Look at Me, I'm Sandra Dee," and Frankie Valli's title track -- that everything works. Some listeners may prefer the Broadway cast recording, but the fact of the matter is, the sleek pop production the movie's soundtrack boasts and the cast's enthusiastic performances go a long way in making this Grease the definitive Grease. [Grease was re-released as a two-LP set in 2015.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2015
Label: Polydor / Umgd
UPC: 0602547377982
catalogNumber: 002307401
Rank: 4602


Disc 1

  1. Grease
  2. Summer Nights
  3. Hopelessly Devoted to You
  4. You're the One That I Want
  5. Sandy
  6. Beauty School Dropout
  7. Look at Me I'm Sandra Dee
  8. Greased Lightnin'
  9. It's Raining on Prom Night
  10. Alone at a Drive in Movie
  11. Blue Moon

Disc 2

  1. Rock N' Roll Is Here to Stay
  2. Those Magic Changes
  3. Hound Dog
  4. Born to Hand Jive
  5. Tears on My Pillow
  6. Mooning
  7. Freddy My Love
  8. Rock N' Roll Party Queen
  9. There Are Worse Things I Could Do
  10. Look at Me I'm Sandra Dee
  11. We Go Together
  12. Love Is a Many Splendored Thing
  13. Grease

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews