The Great Brain at the Academy

The Great Brain at the Academy

by John D. Fitzgerald

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

This fourth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Everyone knew that Tom Fitzgerald, better known as the Great Brain, would get into trouble when he went off to boarding school at the strict Catholic Academy for Boys. But no one--including Tom--knew just how much! Whether he's running an illegal candy store or earning a reputation as the fastest potato peeler, Tom's great brain never faltersm while his money-making schemes rise to new heights!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425290002
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 01/10/2017
Series: Great Brain Series , #5
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 164
Sales rank: 233,018
File size: 417 KB
Age Range: 3 - 7 Years

About the Author

John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscenses led to eight memorable Great Brain books. John D. Fitzgerald also wrote several best-selling adult books, including Papa Married a Mormon. He died in Florida, his home of many years, at the age of eighty-one.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Great Brain at the Academy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was around 8-9 years old when I read this book. I am now 33 years old and I have been talking about getting my hands on this book for years now that I have two children, 10 and 12 year old. They would just love it. I had so many laughs over this book while I was reading, I could hardly put the book down!! Can't wait to read it again once my kids are through with it!
Venqat65 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ah...I remember why these books were my favorites while growing up. Amazing how much factual information is imbedded in amid the exploits and adventures in these stories! I just picked the book up and started to read it again, now, as an adult...and I've already learned about how a steam engine works, the origins of the Jesuit religious sect, and the buildings in Salt Lake City! Not only does the reader learn information such as this, but he also picks up on subtle knowledge such as what life was like in the year 1897. TD and SD are taken to the Academy by horse and buggy....TD's experience of traveling at 60 mph on the train is the fastest he has experienced in his life....10 cents is a lot of money.... There are hundreds of subtle pieces of information conveyed to the reader while he is laughing and marveling at Tom's Great Brain and the ideas it comes up with! These books are genius compared to the dribble that is written for children today!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book and Me and My Little Brain are parallel books, which describe events happening at the same time, however, you should read the other first to have things make sense. This book describes the Great Brain (T.D.)¿s first semester away at the Academy in Salt Lake City. This book is interesting from the beginning with T.D.¿s antics on the train ride to the end when T.D. introduces basketball into the Academy, the first Catholic school to have an organized sports program. The trouble that T.D. gets into is good for plenty of smiles and laughs. Amazingly enough this book is still told from the perspective of T.D.¿s little brother, J.D., which allows continuity with the other books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read these books 25 years ago and recommend them to anyone who enjoys a good adventure and some wonderful characters.