Harm None

Harm None

by M. R. Sellars

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

THE WITCH AND THE DEAD�

They say dead men tell no tales. I really wish that was true, because the dead tell me more than I ever wanted to know.

My name is Rowan Gant. I�m just an average guy�well, except for the fact that I�m a Witch. That last part is the reason I�m the go-to-guy for the local cops whenever a murder is a little beyond the pale and they need a consultant with knowledge of the Occult. I didn�t actually want the job, but apparently the job wanted me.

It all started when I was asked to decipher some symbols found at a crime scene. The police needed answers, and as it turns out so did I. You see, fate being what it is I had a personal connection to the victim when she was still among the living. It gets worse, though� The images in the crime scene photos gave me a sick feeling that the killer wasn�t finished. I could see�even feel�what was coming next, and it was not going to be good.

In fact, it was going to be downright evil�

Product Details

BN ID: 2940016639819
Publisher: WillowTree Press / E. M. A. Mysteries
Publication date: 04/26/2013
Series: The Rowan Gant Investigations , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 316
Sales rank: 173,908
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

A member of the ITW (International Thriller Writers), M. R. Sellars is a relatively unassuming homebody who considers himself just a �guy with a lot of nightmares and a word processing program.� His first full-length novel, Harm None, hit bookstore shelves in 2000 and he hasn�t stopped writing since.

Sellars currently resides in the Midwest with his wife, daughter, and a pair of rescued male felines that he describes as, �the competition.� At home, when not writing or taking care of the household, he indulges his passions for cooking and chasing his wife around the house. She promises that one day she will allow him to catch her.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Harm None 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Incredible, intriguing, total page-turner!!!! Love the characters and the most intense plots ever. His descriptive writings put you right in the middle of everything happening. I'm on my 3rd book of the series in 2 weeks and just can't get enough!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i myself am a wiccan and this book was incredible. I am so glad that the author was able to portray wicca for what it really is an earth based goddess worshipping religion no satanic rituals involved
Rarewolf More than 1 year ago
What can I say. Excellent book. Murv Sellars is excellent in his story telling. I love the way he exlains what is going on in detail as well as gets you (the reader) up to speed in the history of what is happening. I recommend the Whole Rowan Gant Investigation Series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been yawning all day at work because I couldn't go to bed last night until I finished this book. I didn't expect much because I hadn't heard of this author before -- but I have to believe he will become more well known as time goes on -- he's just too good to remain obscure, even given his unique subject matter. I bought his other four books. I can't wait to read them!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've always had a curious nature when it comes to alternative religions and lifestyles but, moreover, I intensely enjoy a good mystery. Harm None captures you with an expertly woven mystery while secretly dispelling preconceived prejudices concerning alternative beliefs. It kept me spellbound from the first page.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Those whom practice witchcraft are many things, but most practitioners not all are evil. Wicca followers revere the earth and believe if you harm someone, it will return to you threefold. St. Louis homicide detective Ben Storm enters a crime scene and immediately realizes he must visit his friend Rowan Grant to learn the truth as the locale is filled with arcane symbols.

Upon coming on the area where a ritual occurred, Rowan realizes that they are dealing with a dangerous individual who has headed down an extremely darkened path. The perpetrator skinned the living victim before cutting out the heart of the deceased. The culprit completed the ugly actions with an expiation spell that excuses the practitioner from the rebound effect. Using the powers that he has honed over the years, Rowan knows the killer will repeatedly strike again until he achieves his goal. The entire police force want to capture this maniac, but Rowan knows he is the chosen whose life might be forfeited during the upcoming magick battle he knows must come.

Anyone familiar with the Wicca religion will quickly realize that M.R. Sellars has done his research because the intricacies of the rituals seem complete and exact. Mr. Sellars demystifies the religion so that the audience will better understand its followers and their beliefs. However, what makes this tale an incredible first entry in a new series is all the background Wicca insight cleverly fits within the superb story line. The mystery is well designed and the cast feels real. Fans of Hamilton and Lackey will want to religiously follow the exploits of Mr. Rowan Grant.

Harriet Klausner

woosang on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Exciting mystery with not too much gore. It is described, but not in so much detail as to make you ill. Terrific writing kept me turning the page, even at work. Thrilling to the end, it is possible to guess the killer, but not until later in the book. (A nice change from the fluffies) The last chapters are action packed. Worth reading I got through the 300 odd pages in less than one day so I can honestly say and fast read.
pschristmas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I haven't read many of the Rowan Gant mysteries, but I did enjoy this one. I found the main characters a little stereotypical, but overall it's a pretty good first novel.
bcquinnsmom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For a series opener, Harm None was not bad. I would recommend to readers interested in Wicca or the occult, and to readers who don't mind suspending logic & belief for a few hours. I enjoyed it, and I will definitely be following the series.brief plot summary w/o spoilers:Rowan Gant and his wife, Felicity, are witches. That is, they are Wicca practitioners. When one of his former students is found dead, Rowan's policeman friend Ben Storm calls Rowan in for some advice -- it seems the girl was found dead and a pentacle was drawn on the wall,her blood dripping down the wall. The police just think this is the act of some whacko Satanist, but Rowan knows better. He also knows that this murder is not the only one to come.The pace of the novel is kind of slow, but that's understandable in a series first. We are just meeting the characters and understanding their individual personalities. The writing is good,the story is good and there aren't any stupid superfluous scenes to get in the way of the story. Try it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to start the next installment of Rowan Gant Investigations , time flies when you're having fun !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, gripping story and an insight to a very misunderstood religion. The author is also a really great guy who takes the time to meet with and talk to fans. I suggest taking the chance and reading with an open mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rowan Gant: The Harry Dresden of witches Amazingly good book! A modern-day witch in St. Louis turns detective to help solve a series of ritual-style murders that begin with the death of a local coven leader. Fast-paced, likeable characters -- definitely a series I will read! (the audiobook version was good!) Highly recommended for Jim Butcher fans...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tells it like it is can't stop reading Score one for real Witches
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wraithfirefist More than 1 year ago
This book is an excellant read when you want to spend many sleepless nights reading because you will not want to put this book down. I have given this book to good friends to read!