Head Jazz

Head Jazz



An excellent concept with merely good execution, Head Jazz is the brainchild of the father/son production team of Joel and Adam Dorn (aka Mocean Worker), who sought to create a heady compilation that would expose listeners to the more psychedelic side of jazz. The album starts off promisingly enough, with Eddie Harris' "Silver Cycles" setting a saxophone melody that goes from funky to freaked-out against a mind-bending backdrop of subtle guitar and echoing sounds. David "Fathead" Newman's jazzy take on "You Can't Always Get What You Want" also works well, showing the soulful connection between the "electric" jazz of the late '60s/early '70s and the acid rock of the same era. But while tracks like Hubert Laws' haunting "Equinox" and Joe Zawinul's trippy "Soul of the Village/Part 2" carry the theme perfectly, tracks like Jimmy Scott's heartbreaking "Day By Day" and Ornette Coleman's swingin' "Ramblin'" are just a tad too earthbound to fit in with the spacy set. It's a damn fine album, but a couple of more mind-altering tracks away from greatness.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/31/2001
Label: LABEL M.
UPC: 0644949573425
catalogNumber: 5734

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dr. John   Piano
Ron Carter   Bass
Jodie Christian   Electric Piano
Hank Crawford   Alto Saxophone
Richard Davis   Bass
Eddie Harris   Electric Saxophone
Billy Higgins   Drums
Rahsaan Roland Kirk   Tenor Saxophone,Manzello,Bird Whistle
Hubert Laws   Piano
McCann   Synthesizer,Electric Piano,Moog Synthesizer
Jimmy Owens   Trumpet
Little Jimmy Scott   Vocals
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Corky Hale   Harp
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion,Conga
Sweet Inspirations   Background Vocals
David Nadien   Violin
Willie Ruff   Bass
Frederick Waits   Drums
Yusef Lateef   Oboe,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Joe Zawinul   Electric Piano
Seymour Barab   Cello
Julien Barber   Viola
Kenny Barron   Piano
Richard Bock   Cello
Alfred Brown   Viola
Bruno Carr   Drums,Latin Percussion
City Service Quartet   Vocals
Selwart Clarke   Viola
Ornette Coleman   Track Performer
Harold Coletta   Viola
Donald Dean   Percussion,Drums
Cornell Dupree   Guitar
Richard Dickler   Viola
Jonathan Dorn   Tuba
Bernard Eichen   Violin
Eric Gale   Guitar
Paul Gershman   Violin
Philip Guilbeau   Trumpet
Charlie Haden   Bass
Harry Lookofsky   Violin
John Hunt   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Paul Ingraham   French Horn
Theodore Israel   Viola
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Junior Mance   Piano
Mitchell   Track Performer
Kermit Moore   Cello
Robert Moore   Trombone
David "Fathead" Newman   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Percussion,Drums
Matthew Raimondi   Violin
George Ricci   Cello
Aaron Rosand   Violin
Jimmy Rowser   Percussion,Electric Bass
Bill Salter   Bass
Alan Shulman   Cello
Charlie Smith   Drums
David Spinozza   Guitar
Joe Habad Texidor   Percussion,Washboard
Marcelino Valdez   Latin Percussion
Edgar Willis   Bass
Wilmer Wise   Trumpet
Harry Zaratzian   Viola
Jimmy Johnson   Drums
Charlie Collins   Drums
Dwike Mitchell   Piano
Allison Anne Mouzon   Percussion,Drums
Daniel Orlock   Trumpet,Cornet
Warren Smith   Percussion

Technical Credits

Melvin "Lil' Son" Jackson   Composer
Mick Jagger   Composer
Eddie Harris   Composer
William Arlt   Engineer
Bobby Arnold   Engineer
Adrian Barber   Engineer
Joel Dorn   Producer
Jonathan Dorn   Direction
Jimmy Douglass   Engineer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
George Engfer   Engineer
Nesuhi Ertegun   Producer
William S. Fischer   Arranger
Paul Goodman   Engineer
Lewis Hahn   Engineer
Bones Howe   Engineer
Phil Iehle   Engineer
Bob Liftin   Engineer
Arif Mardin   Producer
Gene Paul   Engineer
Keith Richards   Composer
Adam Dorn   Producer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Joe Young   Composer
Page Simon   Graphic Design
Mabel Wayne   Composer
Rene Magritte   Paintings

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews