Heavy Horses [Steven Wilson Remix]

Heavy Horses [Steven Wilson Remix]

by Jethro Tull


$13.91 $15.99 Save 13% Current price is $13.91, Original price is $15.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


Jethro Tull's 11th studio album, Heavy Horses, is one of their prettier records, a veritable celebration of English folk music chock-full of gorgeous melodies, briskly played acoustic guitars and mandolins, and Ian Anderson's flute lilting in the background, backed by the group in top form. This record is a fairly close cousin to 1977's Songs From the Wood, except that its songs are decidedly more passionate, sung with a rough, robust energy that much of Tull's work since Thick as a Brick had been missing, and surpassing even Aqualung in its lustiness. "No Lullaby" is the signature heavy riff song, a concert version of which opened Bursting Out: Jethro Tull Live. Anderson sings it -- and everything else here -- as though they might be the last lines he ever gets to voice, with tremendous intensity. The band plays hard behind him throughout, with lead guitarist Martin Barre (most notably on "Weathercock") and bassist John Glascock showing up very well throughout. Anderson's production and Robin Black's engineering catch their every nuance without sacrificing the delicacy of his acoustic guitar and mandolin playing. "Acres Wild," "Rover," "One Brown Mouse," "Weathercock," and "Moths," the latter featuring some of David Palmer's most tasteful orchestral arrangements, are among the loveliest songs in the group's entire repertory. Curved Air's Darryl Way plays violin solo on the title track -- a tribute to England's vanishing shire horses, which doesn't really take off until Way's instrument comes in on the break, with a marked tempo change -- and on "Acres Wild."

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2018
Label: Rhino / Parlophone
UPC: 0190295757908
catalogNumber: 566792
Rank: 10812

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jethro Tull   Primary Artist
Ian Anderson   Acoustic Guitar,Flute,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Darryl Way   Soloist
Martin Barre   Electric Guitar,Group Member
Barriemore Barlow   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
John Evan   Organ,Piano,Group Member
John Glascock   Bass,Guitar,Group Member
David Palmer   Keyboards,Pipe organ,Group Member

Technical Credits

Ian Anderson   Composer,Producer,Whistle
Martin Barre   Composer,Additional Music
Shona Anderson   Back Cover Photo
Robin Black   Engineer
Phil Smee   Artwork
Steven Wilson   Stereo Remixer
James Cotier   Cover Photo
Martin Webb   Liner Notes
David Palmer   Orchestral Arrangements,Additional Music

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews