Here Come the ABC's [CD/DVD]

Here Come the ABC's [CD/DVD]

by They Might Be Giants

CD(Bonus DVD)

$9.82 $10.99 Save 11% Current price is $9.82, Original price is $10.99. You Save 11%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 2


They Might Be Giants' debut into the world of children's music, the kid-hit No!, featured a variety of topics and wacky lyrics, but this time, John Flansburgh and John Linnell have just one thing on their mind -- the alphabet. For a duo who have famously composed an album of songs exclusively about American states and who operated a dial-a-song service for years, the narrow focus is no hindrance. Here Come the ABC's may seek to educate about letters, but it's also an energetic, upbeat, and quirky paean to individuality. The disc opens with "Alphabet of Nations," a great alternative to the traditional recitation that also promotes an understanding of the world around us. "Go for G" is a frantically paced celebration of the many words that begin with titular letter and could easily be a Sesame Street outtake -- and that's no faint praise. Another twist on a classic comes from "Who Put the Alphabet in Alphabetical Order?," where a high pitched female voice sings the ABC's, old-school style. But the best track, by far, is "Pictures of Pandas Painting," an homage to alliteration that's as psychedelic as its title sounds -- parents will recall Beatles songs and college rock; kids will just think it's fun. Most songs are less than two minutes long, another bonus for teachers trying to incorporate learning into waiting for the bus, or singing between activities.They Might Be Giants leaven the work of learning with a dose of creativity that just might send reluctant young students on their way to the world of letters. There's also a companion DVD release of songs from this CD filled with animation, puppetry, live action, and pure fun -- an eclectic mix of sight and sound that is not to be missed.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2005
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050086140770
catalogNumber: 861407
Rank: 12272


Disc 1

  1. Here Come the Abcs
  2. Alphabet of Nations
  3. E Eats Everything
  4. Flying V
  5. Q U
  6. Go for G!
  7. Pictures of Pandas Painting
  8. D & W
  9. Fake-Believe
  10. Can You Find It?
  11. The Vowel Family
  12. Letter/Not a Letter
  13. Alphabet Lost and Found
  14. I C U
  15. Letter Shapes
  16. Who Put the Alphabet in Alphabetical Order?
  17. Rolling O
  18. L M N O
  19. C Is for Conifer
  20. Fake-Believe (Type B)
  21. D Is for Drums
  22. Z y X
  23. Goodnight My Friends
  24. Clap Your Hand
  25. Here in Higglytown (Theme to Playhouse Disney's Higglytown Heroes)
  26. Hovering Sombrero '05
  27. I Never Go to Work

Disc 2

  1. Here Come the Abcs
  2. Alphabet of Nations
  3. E Eats Everything
  4. Flying V
  5. I Am a Robot
  6. Q U
  7. Go for G!
  8. Pictures of Pandas Painting
  9. D & W
  10. Fake-Believe
  11. Can You Find It?
  12. Introducing the Vowel Family
  13. The Vowel Family
  14. A to Z
  15. Letter/Not a Letter
  16. Latter Shapes
  17. Alphabet Lost and Found
  18. I C U
  19. I Am a Robot (Type B)
  20. John and John Introduce...
  21. Who Put the Alphabet in Alphabetical Order?
  22. Rolling O
  23. L M N O
  24. Introducing C Is for Conifers
  25. Fake-Believe (Type B)
  26. A to Z (Type B)
  27. D Is for Drums
  28. Introducing Z y X
  29. Z y X
  30. Goodnight My Friends
  31. Here Come the Abcs!
  32. Introducing the Bonus Tracks
  33. Clap Your Hands
  34. Violin
  35. Stalk of Wheat
  36. Robot Parade
  37. Sleepwalker
  38. Here in Higglytown (Theme to Playhouse Disney's Higglytown Heroes) ...

Album Credits

Performance Credits

They Might Be Giants   Primary Artist
Don Miller   Guitar
Marty Beller   Drums,Vocals
Patrick Dillett   Keyboards
John Flansburgh   Group Member
Dan Hickey   Drums
Dan Levine   Trombone,Tuba
John Linnell   Group Member
Danny Weinkauf   Bass
Robin "Goldie" Goldwasser   Voices
Desi Tomaselli   Voices

Technical Credits

They Might Be Giants   Composer
Marty Beller   Composer
Dave Conrad   Authoring
Patrick Dillett   Producer,Engineer
Ted Kryczko   Authoring
David Agnew   Executive Producer
Rolf Conant   Logo
Samm Potts   Logo
Divya Srinivasan   Illustrations
Anaheed Alani   Copy Editing
Jamie Lincoln Kitman   Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Here Come the ABC's 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Music parents and kids can love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago