Hits Of 1983

Hits Of 1983



Sony Special Products' Hits Of series follows a pretty set script. The discs are short at only ten tracks and contain a mix of big hits, middling hits, and totally forgotten songs by pretty well-known artists. It is a unique strategy that brings some interesting songs to light and makes for good listening. Hits of 1983 has quite a few huge era-defining songs on it like Adam Ant's "Goody Two Shoes," After the Fall's "Der Komissar," Quiet Riot's "Cum On Feel the Noize," Men at Work's "Down Under," and Bonnie Tyler's "Total Eclipse of the Heart." It also has a pretty darn good ELO tune ("Rock and Roll Is King"), two Toto songs ("Africa" and " I Won't Hold You Back"), and mediocre tracks by Earth, Wind & Fire and Loverboy. It all adds up to one of the weaker entries in the series, mainly due to the inclusion of two Toto songs and, surprisingly, the number of hits included, since one of the main appeals of the series is the unusual track selections.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/01/2001
Label: Sony Special Product
UPC: 0079893168340
catalogNumber: 31683

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Adam Ant   Track Performer
Earth, Wind & Fire   Track Performer
Electric Light Orchestra, Part II   Track Performer
Loverboy   Track Performer
Men at Work   Track Performer
Quiet Riot   Track Performer
Toto   Track Performer
Bonnie Tyler   Track Performer
After the Fire   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Falco   Composer
Maurice White   Composer
Rose Tattoo   Composer
Colin Hay   Composer
Andy Piercy   Composer
Ron Strykert   Composer
Wanda Vaughn   Composer
Wayne Vaughn   Composer
Robert Ponger   Composer
Neville Holder   Composer
James Lea   Composer
Andrew Piercy   Composer
Bruce Fairbalm   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews