Hoagy Sings Carmichael

Hoagy Sings Carmichael

by Johnny Mandel & His Orchestra

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Bonus Tracks / Spanish Import / 180 Gram Vinyl)

$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


Hoagy Carmichael's last significant recording is a project whose format should have been repeated in later years. Sticking to vocals, Carmichael performs ten of his compositions including "Georgia on My Mind," "New Orleans," "Skylark," "Baltimore Oriole," "Rockin' Chair," and "Lazy River." What is unusual is that he is accompanied by an 11-piece all-star jazz group and that his voice takes its turn with trumpeters Harry "Sweets" Edison and Don Fagerquist, altoist Art Pepper, and pianist Jimmy Rowles. The match up works quite well, for Hoagy's songs have long been viable devices for jazz improvising. [The CD reissue of this unique set adds a previously unreleased instrumental rendition of "Georgia on My Mind" to the already impressive program.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2019
Label: Wax Time
UPC: 8436559465540
catalogNumber: 9465540
Rank: 11047


  1. Georgia on My Mind
  2. Winter Moon
  3. New Orleans
  4. Memphis in June
  5. Skylark
  6. Hong Kong Blues
  7. Stardust
  8. Two Sleepy People
  9. Baltimore Oriole
  10. Rockin' Chair
  11. Ballad in Blue
  12. Lazy River
  13. Georgia on My Mind
  14. Riverboat Shuffle
  15. Washboard Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews