Hoodoo [Deluxe Edition] [2 CD]

Hoodoo [Deluxe Edition] [2 CD]

by Alison Moyet


$19.94 $20.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.94, Original price is $20.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


On her third post-Yaz release, songstress Alison Moyet puts her bluesy vocal abilities to good use on possibly her most soulful collection yet. She hasn't lost her knack for breezy, adult pop, evident on the lilting, melodic "Wishing You Were Here" (with Kirsty MacColl lending some assistance on backing vocals) and "It Won't Be Long," but tracks like the horn-driven "Footsteps" and high-energy title song form the core of Hoodoo. With the lyrics squarely focused on relationships, Moyet is often brassy and assertive as on "Back Where I Belong," which features a catchy electro-reggae beat and contributions from ex-Fine Young Cannibals Andy Cox and David Steele. She's still more than capable of expressing heart-aching vulnerability, though, especially on the gorgeous "This House," where a split-second pause gives way to her passionately imploring, "Who will take your place?" Other highlights include a pair of gospel-flavored numbers, the jumpy "Rise" (on which she adds harmonica) and the anthemic closer, "Find Me." It all makes Hoodoo another strong offering from the distinctive Moyet. [Hoodoo was released in a two-CD Deluxe Edition in 2016, featuring the original album remastered on the first disc along with a second disc of bonus tracks, including 12" remixes, B-sides, live tracks, and more. The package also included a booklet with exclusive sleeve notes, an Alison Moyet interview, song lyrics, and photos.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/02/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 4050538231045
catalogNumber: 5052374
Rank: 80652

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alison Moyet   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Kirsty MacColl   Choir, Chorus
Bob Andrews   Keyboards,Hammond B3
Ron Aslan   Choir, Chorus
Dyan Birch   Background Vocals
Hugh Burns   Guitar
Jimmy Chambers   Background Vocals
George Chandler   Background Vocals
Frank Collins   Background Vocals
Andy Cox   Guitar
Blair Cunningham   Drums
Dave Dix   Piano,Keyboards
Eugene Eugenius Ellis   Choir, Chorus
Pete Glenister   Guitar,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jimmy Helms   Background Vocals
Graham Henderson   Piano
Kick Horns   Horn
John McKenzie   Bass
Rob Rawlinson   Bass
Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra   Strings
Jeff Scantlebury   Percussion
Steve Sidelnyk   Percussion
David Steele   Bass
Fiachra Trench   Strings
Ben Watkins   Background Vocals,Noise
Mint Juleps   Background Vocals
Neil Conti   Drums
Steve Cradock   Background Vocals
Danny Thompson   Double Bass
Simon Fowler   Background Vocals
Joanne Wakeling   Choir, Chorus
Michelle Cross   Background Vocals
Debra 'Lewis' Brown   Background Vocals
Paddie McHugh   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dave Anderson   Engineer
Bob Andrews   Programming
Neil Brockbank   Programming,Engineer
Andy Cox   Programming,Producer
Marius de Vries   Programming
Dave Dix   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer
John Fryer   Engineer
Mike Gaffey   Programming
Pete Glenister   Composer,Programming,Producer
Barry Hammond   Engineer
Matt Irving   Composer
Warren Kennedy   Composer
Phil Legg   Programming,Engineer
Martin Rex   Programming,Engineer
Alison Moyet   Arranger,Composer,Programming
David Steele   Programming,Producer
Ben Watkins   Programming
Keith Breeden   Sleeve Design
Amy Raphael   Liner Notes
Darren Evans   Reissue Art
Mike Pinder   Composer
Dean Kennedy   Composer
Chris Dickey   Engineer
Steve Coats-Dennis   Liner Notes
Nigel Sewell   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews