Hot Fives & Sevens, Vol. 4

Hot Fives & Sevens, Vol. 4

by Louis Armstrong



The fourth and last volume in JSP's Louis Armstrong Hot Fives & Sevens set diligently follows the Armstrong discography from March 5, 1929 through April 5, 1930, with a couple of alternate takes tacked onto the end like marzipan truffles. Decidedly different from the preceding volumes, this disc mostly features ensembles of nine and ten players, with even the Savoy Ballroom Five weighing in as a ten-piece big band. These marvelous Okeh sides paved the way for the smoother dance and swing band sounds of the 1930s. Armstrong handles five melodies composed by his pal Fats Waller, sings a duet with Hoagy Carmichael on "Rockin' Chair" and ushers in the Great Depression with charming renditions of "When You're Smiling" and "I Can't Give You Anything But Love."

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/1998
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065301521
catalogNumber: 315

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Louis Armstrong   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Lonnie Johnson   Guitar
Hoagy Carmichael   Vocals,Track Performer
Henry "Red" Allen   Trumpet
Paul Barbarin   Drums,Vibes
Eddie Condon   Banjo
Albert Nicholas   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Luis Russell   Piano
Zutty Singleton   Drums,Leader
Gene Anderson   Piano,Cello
William Thornton Blue   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Pete Briggs   Bowed Bass,Brass Baritone
Bert Curry   Alto Saxophone
Pops Foster   Baritone Saxophone,Standup Bass
J.C. Higginbotham   Trombone
Teddy Hill   Tenor Saxophone
Homer Hobson   Trumpet
Charlie Holmes   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Otis Johnson   Trumpet
Jimmy Strong   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Buck Washington   Piano,Trumpet
Crawford Wethington   Alto Saxophone
Dave Wilborn   Banjo,Guitar
Carroll Dickerson   Violin,Leader
Will Johnson   Guitar
Fred Robinson   Trombone
Louis Armstrong & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Mancy Carr   Banjo,Bass,Vocals

Technical Credits

Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Richard M. Jones   Producer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Mark Fisher   Composer
Charles Fox   Liner Notes
Joe Goodwin   Composer
Turner Layton   Composer
Byron Warner   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Carroll Dickerson   Director
Sally-Ann Worsfold   Liner Notes
Larry Shay   Composer
Jacques Richmond   Composer
Lloyd Garrett   Composer
Hart A. Wand   Composer
Charles A. Bayha   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews