I Love Disco [EMI]

I Love Disco [EMI]



EMI's I Love Disco spreads 44 cuts across two discs and doesn't limit itself to disco's original mid-to-late-'70s incarnation -- it also extends itself into post-disco, including house and dance-pop singles that wouldn't have been possible without the original era. Obvious choices like the Village People's "Y.M.C.A.," Earth, Wind & Fire's "Boogie Wonderland," Hot Chocolate's "You Sexy Thing," Gloria Gaynor's "I Will Survive," Anita Ward's "Ring My Bell," and Heatwave's "Boogie Nights" mix it up with later popular singles, such as Mousse T.'s "Horny," Ultra Naté's "Free," Kylie Minogue's "Spinning Around," and Daft Punk's "One More Time." The selection could've been a lot more adventurous -- so many of these songs have been recycled countless times on other compilations -- and all the songs are presented in single-edit format, which means that the extended grooves that the form was built on are lopped off for radio play. However, it is somewhat admirable that it attempts to show how disco, one of the most misunderstood and unjustly maligned music styles, could've survived thousands of riotous mass-record burnings.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/01/2002
Label: Emi Import
UPC: 0724381069929
catalogNumber: 810699

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blondie   Track Performer
Earth, Wind & Fire   Track Performer
Emotions   Track Performer
Gloria Gaynor   Track Performer
Heatwave   Track Performer
Kool & the Gang   Track Performer
Labelle   Track Performer
Kylie Minogue   Track Performer
Diana Ross   Track Performer
Shalamar   Track Performer
Donna Summer   Track Performer
Tavares   Track Performer
Whispers   Track Performer
Wild Cherry   Track Performer
Bus Stop   Track Performer
Ultra Naté   Track Performer
Anita Ward   Track Performer
Silver Convention   Track Performer
John Paul Young   Vocals
McFadden & Whitehead   Track Performer
Starsound Orchestra   Track Performer
KC & the Sunshine Band   Track Performer
Village People   Track Performer
Daft Punk   Track Performer
Geri Halliwell   Track Performer
Mousse T   Track Performer
Tamperer   Track Performer
Spiller   Track Performer
Martine McCutcheon   Track Performer
Ottawan   Track Performer
Modjo   Track Performer
Inaya   Vocals
Ones   Track Performer
Milk & Sugar   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Paula Abdul   Composer
Kool & the Gang   Composer
Donna Summer   Composer
Barry White   Producer
Maurice White   Producer
Giorgio Moroder   Composer
Barry Gibb   Composer
Ronald Bell   Composer
Pete Bellotte   Composer
Henri Belolo   Producer,Executive Producer
Jerry Cohen   Producer
Pete Craigie   Producer
Dino Fekaris   Producer
Richard Finch   Arranger,Producer
Andrew Livingstone   Executive Producer
McKay   Producer
Jacques Morali   Producer
Mickie Most   Producer
Freddie Perren   Producer
John Poppo   Arranger,Producer
M. Taylor   Composer
Harry Vanda   Composer
John Whitehead   Producer
Kara DioGuardi   Composer
N-Trance   Producer
Jon Ciafone   Producer
Touch of Class   Producer,Engineer
Jackson 5   Producer
Lem Springsteen   Producer
Thomas Bangalter   Composer,Producer
Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo   Composer,Producer
Groove Armada   Producer
Mike Spencer   Producer
Mike Milk   Producer
Andy Cato   Composer
Kamaal Fareed   Composer
A. Moore   Composer
Gladys Pizarro   Executive Producer
Madison Avenue   Producer
Falox   Producer
Tom Findlay   Composer
Bill Coleman   Executive Producer
Yann Destal   Producer
Romain Tranchart   Producer
George Young   Composer
Stephen Lipson   Producer
Errol Brown   Composer
Milk & Sugar   Producer,Remixing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews