I Remember Bill: Tribute to Bill Evans

I Remember Bill: Tribute to Bill Evans

by Don Sebesky



Instead of replicating the familiar, small-combo arrangements that Bill Evans made his stock in trade, Don Sebesky decided to rearrange such Evans-associated songs as "Waltz for Debby," "So What," "Peace Piece," and "Blue in Green" for jazz orchestra, featuring such all-star musicians as Joe Lovano, Lee Konitz, Toots Thielemans, Larry Coryell, and the New York Voices. Consequently, I Remember Bill: Tribute to Bill Evans might not be exactly what longtime Evans fans are expecting, and, truth be told, these arrangements don't always work. Nevertheless, Sebesky's ambitions are admirable, and the tracks that do work -- whether it's "I'm Getting Sentimental Over You" or the original numbers "I Remember Bill" and "Bill Not Gil" -- are quite enchanting. Furthermore, Evans fanatics will be interested in the unreleased interview excerpt with Evans that's added as a bonus track.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/1998
Label: Rca
UPC: 0090266892921
catalogNumber: 68929

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Don Sebesky   Primary Artist,Conductor
Bob Brookmeyer   Trombone,Valve Trombone
Larry Coryell   Guitar
Eddie Gomez   Bass
Marc Johnson   Bass
Lee Konitz   Alto Saxophone
Hubert Laws   Flute
Joe Lovano   Tenor Saxophone
New York Voices   Vocals
Sue Evans   Percussion
Martin Agee   Violin
Randy Andos   Tuba,Baritone Horn
Kenny Berger   Clarinet,Flute,Bassoon,Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone,Brass,Woodwind
Jeanie Bryson   Percussion,Strings,Vocals
Kenneth Burward-Hoy   Viola
Sarah Carter   Cello
Eddie Daniels   Clarinet,Strings,French Horn,Woodwind
Peter Eldridge   Woodwind
Max Ellen   Violin
Lawrence Feldman   Flute,Violin,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Tom Harrell   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lauren Kinhan   Woodwind
Joe La Barbera   Drums,Brass,Woodwind
Jesse Levine   Viola
Roy Lewis   Violin
Dennis Mackrel   Cymbals,Drums
Darmon Meader   Woodwind
Johnny Miller   Bass
Marty Morell   Drums
John Mosca   Trombone,Baritone Horn
Joe Mosello   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Kim Nazarian   Woodwind
Brian O'Flaherty   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joe Passaro   Percussion,Strings,Violin,Cymbals,Glockenspiel,Gong,French Horn,Maracas,Timpani,Woodwind
John Pizzarelli   Guitar,Vocals
Jim Pugh   Trombone,Baritone Horn
Alan Raph   Baritone Horn,Bass Trombone
Barry Ries   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
David Samuels   Strings,Brass,Vibes,Woodwind
Laura Seaton   Violin
Mitsue Takayama   Viola
Toots Thielemans   Harmonica,Strings,Woodwind
David Tofani   Flute,Violin,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Cenovia Cummins   Violin
Dale Stuckenbruck   Violin
Chuck Wilson   Clarinet,Flute,Piccolo,Soprano Saxophone
Caryl Paisner   Cello
Peter Gordon   French Horn
Tom Christensen   Flute,Violin,Horn,Oboe,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Shinwon Kim   Violin
Evan Johnson   Violin

Technical Credits

Bill Evans   Composer
Lee Konitz   Contributor
Gene Lees   Composer
Don Sebesky   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Tom McCluskey   Engineer
Jay Newland   Engineer
Ken Sebesky   Contributor
John Snyder   Producer
Stephanie L. Stein   Liner Notes
Steve Gates   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews