If We Pray

If We Pray

by Anointed


View All Available Formats & Editions


When the gospel trio Anointed became a duo, it seemed impossible that the Grammy-nominated, Dove Award-winning group could emerge unscathed. Indeed, the richly blended harmonies of Nee-C Walls and siblings Da'Dra Crawford Greathouse and Steve Crawford put Anointed on the gospel map. Thankfully, the newly transformed Anointed is just as solid in sound and resolute in message. If We Pray, Anointed's first release since Walls's departure, finds the Crawford siblings re-creating the group's trademark lush harmonies and smooth R&B gospel-pop. But there's also a fresh, contemporary sound taking prominence here, one that blends anthemic Top 40 power ballads with the group's gospel roots. With prayer as its main theme, If We Pray tells a story of overcoming challenges through faith, family, and friends, and it's a delightful, uplifting tale. Prayers from Steve Crawford's young children, Ashley and Monty, are sprinkled throughout, adding moments of sweetness -- even the most jaded heart will surely smile at hearing young Monty's insistence on asking God to bless the family dog. But it's the moving ballad "Let Me Be Love," sung with true emotion by Da'Dra, that packs the biggest wallop here; this is as surefire a hit as any we've heard this year. Change isn't always easy, but Anointed seems to have emerged from its trials stronger than before.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/02/2002
Label: Word Entertainment
UPC: 0080688607920
catalogNumber: 886079

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Anointed   Primary Artist
Tata Vega   Background Vocals
Dave Cleveland   Acoustic Guitar
Dan Dugmore   Pedal Steel Guitar
Carl Gorodetzky   Leader
Tom Howard   Conductor
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Jerry McPherson   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Tommy Sims   Acoustic Guitar,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Clavinet,fender rhodes
Pamela Sixfin   Strings
Nee-C Walls   Background Vocals
Chris Willis   Background Vocals
Chris Kent   Bass Guitar
Dan Needham   Drums
Micah Wilshire   Electric Guitar
Jeremy Bose   Keyboards
Andrew Ramsey   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Stephen Leiweke   Acoustic Guitar
Annointed Cherubs   Track Performer
Kent Hooper   Keyboards
Chris Rodriguez   Electric Guitar
Ken Lewis   Percussion
Nickie Conley   Vocals

Technical Credits

Danny Duncan   Engineer
Ronnie Brookshire   Engineer
Mark Hammond   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Chris Harris   Producer
Tom Howard   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Tom Laune   Engineer
Todd Robbins   Engineer
Tommy Sims   Producer,String Arrangements
Dave Dillbeck   Engineer
Jeremy Bose   Programming
Dan Muckala   Programming,Producer,Track Programmer
Craig Young   overdub engineer
Kent Hooper   Engineer
Chris Rodriguez   Producer
Jacob Lawson   String Arrangements
Ronnie Bookshire   Engineer
Katherine Petillo   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews