by Miike Snow


View All Available Formats & Editions


Swedish avant pop trio Miike Snow returned after a four-year silence with their third LP, the appropriately titled iii. Progressing naturally from their previous releases, iii is a collection of soul-infused pop-fusion nuggets. Hook maestros Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg -- also known as Bloodshy & Avant, writers of Britney's Grammy-winning "Toxic" -- and Andrew Wyatt built reputations with their knack for inventive songcraft, which is well executed here on their own material. Opening with a theatrical piano and drum flourish -- and closing with the sweeping coda "Longshot (7 Nights)" -- iii is a confident and catchy third act for the Swedish-American trio. Featuring electronic flourishes and soulful vocals, the album is peppered with fuzzy synths ("The Heart of Me") and languid Auto-Tune ("I Feel the Weight"), tracks that recall past hits like "Animal" and "Black and Blue." At times, the mood is melancholic and introspective, but always with a bold beat, heavily influenced by the trio's love of hip-hop producer J Dilla (especially on the subwoofer-friendly "Back of the Car"). The breezy "Lonely Life" even sounds like Air, with a little more muscle. Otherwise, the head-bopping energy remains elevated, like on highlight "Genghis Khan" and the bombastic "Heart Is Full," which samples jazz and soul vocalist Marlena Shaw (the digital version also includes a Run the Jewels remix). Fellow pop experimentalist Charli XCX makes an appearance on another standout, the popping banger "For U." The most surprising moment appears near the end of the album: "Over and Over" clicks with a skittering chorus, but the rest of the song is gritty, sounding almost industrial. This mix of genres at work makes for an exciting listen, another addictive affair of dark melody and bold beats from a trio that excels in intelligent, deftly produced art pop. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2016
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678666681
catalogNumber: 553258

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Miike Snow   Primary Artist
Andrew Wyatt   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Wurlitzer,Group Member
Henrik Jonback   Piano
Andreas Forsman   Strings
Homer Steinweiss   Drums
Pontus Winnberg   Bass,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Group Member
Markus Krunegård   Guitar,Background Vocals
Emma Lindhamre   Strings
Nisse Tornqvist   Drums
Patrik Berger   Acoustic Guitar
Christian Karlsson   Group Member
Erik Holm   Strings
Conny Lindgren   Strings
Amanda Warner   Bass,Background Vocals
Charli XCX   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Burt Bacharach   Composer
Robert "Kool" Bell   Composer
George "Funky" Brown   Composer
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Robert "Spike" Mickens   Composer
Dennis "D.T." Thomas   Composer
Ricky West   Composer
Andrew Wyatt   Composer
Kevin Augunas   Drum Engineering
Henrik Jonback   Composer,Producer
Henrik Korpi   Band Photo
Alex Kirzhner   Art Direction,Illustrations
Vincent Pontare   Composer
Pontus Winnberg   Composer,Engineer
Markus Krunegård   Composer
Miike Snow   Producer,Engineer
Nick Zinner   Band Photo
Emile Haynie   drum programming
Patrik Berger   Composer
Christian Karlsson   Composer
S. Vaughan Merrick   Engineer
Claydes Smith   Composer
Angela Kötzsch   Composer
Amanda Warner   Composer
James Yancey   Composer
Svidden   Programming
Johannes Raassina   Engineer
Joachim Belaieff   Band Photo
Erik Fernholm   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews