This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

In the Dark: Live at Vicar Street

In the Dark: Live at Vicar Street

by Josh Ritter

CD(Bonus DVD)

$6.99 $9.99 Save 30% Current price is $6.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24


Quibbles about the DVD half of this two-disc set aside (some American purchasers have had difficulty getting their players to cooperate), In the Dark: Live at Vicar Street, recorded over two spring nights in 2006, gets to the heart of what makes Josh Ritter more than just another folkie. In a word, it's spirit: from fan favorite "Me & Jiggs" to "Leaving," the audio disc's closer, Ritter rips through these songs as though he's been waiting years to play them. It helps, for sure, that his Irish audience is so receptive -- the howls go up especially for the sweetly romantic "Kathleen" -- but song for song Ritter's sure-footed way with his tunes and his deep desire to connect with his listeners speak loudest. Live recordings sometimes rob subtleties from the music; here they're reinforced by sheer will. Ritter, on In the Dark, comes off as both a likable guy and a strong, skillful showman.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/05/2008
Label: Independent Ireland
UPC: 0634457196421
catalogNumber: 66
Rank: 65669


Disc 1

  1. Idaho
  2. Good Man
  3. Me & Jiggs
  4. Harrisburg
  5. Wings
  6. One More Mouth
  7. Lillian, Egypt
  8. Kathleen Intro
  9. Kathleen
  10. Best for the Best
  11. Girl in the War
  12. Thin Blue Flame
  13. Snow Is Gone
  14. Leaving

Disc 2

  1. Intro
  2. Kathleen
  3. Wolves
  4. Josh Interview
  5. Girl in the War
  6. Best for the Best
  7. Monster Ballads
  8. Gear Setup
  9. Here at the Right Time
  10. Josh Interview
  11. Harrisburg
  12. Josh Interview
  13. One More Mouth
  14. Josh Interview
  15. Idaho
  16. In the Dark
  17. Josh Interview
  18. Harbor Lights
  19. Lillian, Egypt
  20. Thin Blue Flame
  21. Snow Is Gone
  22. Parting Glass
  23. Josh Interview
  24. Bone of Song

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Josh Ritter   Primary Artist,Group Member
Sam Kassirer   Group Member
Zack Hickman   Group Member

Technical Credits

Rob Anderson   Authoring
Aiden Foley   Art Direction
Josh Ritter   Composer
Brent Berry   Promoter
Darius Zelkha   Management
Jason Munn   Packaging
Dennis E. Powell   Audio Production
Peter Canning   Projection
Myles Claffey   Camera Operator
Daniel Corcoran   Camera Operator
Tim Duggan   Camera Operator
Dennis W. Fitzgerald   Director,Camera Operator
Paddy Jordan   Camera Operator
Neil Kopp   Producer,Camera Operator
Mannix McPhillips   Art Direction
Brandon Trost   Camera Operator

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews