In Tribute

In Tribute

by Diane Schuur


View All Available Formats & Editions


On this well-intentioned set, Diane Schuur sings 13 standards that she individually dedicated to 12 singers: Billie Holiday (who is saluted with two songs), Helen Morgan, Anita O'Day, Sarah Vaughan, Carmen McRae, Ella Fitzgerald, Libby Holman, Peggy Lee, Dinah Washington, Ivie Anderson, Nancy Wilson and Mabel Mercer. In most cases, the arrangements for the huge string orchestra (contributed by Billy May, Johnny Mandel, Jeremy Lubbock, Clare Fischer or Alan Broadbent) weigh down the music a bit, and none of Schuur's renditions quite reach the heights of her role models. Still, Diane Schuur's voice is quite attractive, and taken on its own merit, this sincere CD (which has an informative 40-page booklet) is generally enjoyable.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/17/1992
Label: Grp Records
UPC: 0011105200622
catalogNumber: 2006

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Diane Schuur   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Ray Kelley   Cello
Alan Broadbent   Piano
Gary Foster   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Jeff Hamilton   Drums
Steve Kujala   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Don Menza   Tenor Saxophone
Lanny Morgan   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Jim Walker   Flute
John Chiodini   Guitar
Bruce Dukov   Violin,Concert Master
Marilyn Baker   Viola
Richard Todd   French Horn
Samuel Boghossian   Viola
George Bohannon   Trombone
Oscar Brashear   Trumpet
Dennis Budimir   Guitar
Larry Bunker   Percussion
Jodi Burnett   Cello
Kenneth Burward-Hoy   Viola
Ronald Clark   Violin
Jeff Clayton   Flute,Tenor Saxophone,Woodwind
John Clayton   Bass
Ronald Cooper   Cello
Larry Corbett   Cello
Isabelle Daskoff   Violin
Douglas Davis   Cello
Chuck Domanico   Bass
Earl Dumler   Oboe
Assa Drori   Violin,Concert Master
Arni Egilsson   Bass,String Bass
Henry Ferber   Violin
Ronald Folsom   Violin
Frederick Seykora   Cello
Clayton Halop   Violin
Clayton Haslop   Violin
Todd Hemmenway   Cello
Pamela Henderson   Violin
Dan Higgins   Flute,Woodwind
Reginald Hill   Violin
William Hybel   Violin
Jack Sheldon   Trumpet
Ronald Janelli   Woodwind
Patricia Johnson   Violin
Anne Karam   Cello
Dennis Karmazyn   Cello
Suzie Kattayama   Cello
Roland Kato   Viola
Miran Kojian   Violin
Joe La Barbera   Drums
Gayle LaVant   Harp
Janet Lakatos   Viola
Kathleen Lenski   Violin
Brian Leonard   Violin
Charles Loper   Trombone
John Lowe   Woodwind
Warren Luening   Trumpet
Margot MacLaine   Viola
Earl Madison   Cello
Rene Mandel   Violin
Gordon Marron Strings   Violin
Edward Meares   Bass,String Bass
Jorge Moraga   Viola
Carole Mukogawa   Viola
Buell Neidlinger   Bass,String Bass
Jack Nimitz   Baritone Saxophone,Woodwind
Don Palmer   Violin
Tom Ranier   Woodwind
Dorothy Remsen   Harp
James Ross   Viola
David Shamban   Cello
Haim Shtrum   Violin
Nolan Andrew Smith   Trumpet
Maurice Spears   Trombone
Robert Stone   Bass,String Bass
Margaret Storer   Bass,String Bass
Robert Sushel   Violin
Frank Szabo   Trumpet
Ian Underwood   Synthesizer
Brad Warnaar   French Horn
James Walker   Alto Saxophone
Francine Walsh   Violin
Miwako Watanabe   Violin
Shari Zippert   Violin
Edward Green   Violin
Dick Hyde   Trombone
Gayle Levant   Harp
Suzie Katayama   Cello
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Mari Tsumura-Botnick   Violin
Don Shelton   Flute,Woodwind
Joseph Davis   Trumpet
Ralph Morrison   Violin
Louise di Tullio   Flute
Gary Gray   Woodwind
Alan de Veritch   Viola
Calvin Smith   French Horn
Richard Mitchell   Flute,Oboe,Woodwind

Technical Credits

Alan Broadbent   Arranger
Jeremy Lubbock   Arranger
Billy May   Arranger
Diane Schuur   Arranger
Curt Anderson   Engineer
Ray Blair   Engineer
Dave Grusin   Producer,Executive Producer
Ken Deranteriasian   Engineer
Karen Eckoff   Engineer
Clare Fischer   Arranger
André Fischer   Producer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Randy Long   Engineer
Johnny Mandel   Arranger,Producer
Barrett O'Hara   Supervising Copyist
Christopher Rich   Engineer
Larry Rosen   Producer,Executive Producer
Schmitt   Engineer
Frank Vialy   Engineer
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff   Engineer
Terry Woodson   Supervising Copyist
Suzie Katayama   Supervising Copyist
Chip Deffaa   Liner Notes
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Michael Bloom   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews