Inside Llewyn Davis [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Inside Llewyn Davis [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]


$16.25 $18.99 Save 14% Current price is $16.25, Original price is $18.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Unlike O Brother Where Art Thou, the Coen Brothers' previous collaboration with T-Bone Burnett, the soundtrack to Inside Llewyn Davis isn't a pastiche. Inside Llewyn Davis gains its power through precision as the whole idea of the project is capturing a specific point in time, the great Folk Scare of the early '60s, when Kingston Trio and Peter Paul & Mary were having crossover hits, the time just before Bob Dylan arrived in Greenwich Village. In other words, it was the time where Dave Van Ronk reigned supreme, and he -- and his memoir -- provides the touchstone for the Coens' remarkable Inside Llewyn Davis and, even if the lines don't strictly match, the Coens touch on truths about talent and commercialism within their film. This makes the soundtrack something of a difficult beast on its own terms. Sometimes, the parody is evident -- quite delightfully so on "Please Mr. Kennedy," an intentional whirlwind novelty rocket-fueled by Adam Driver's asides -- but sometimes it's slyer, as when the Clancy Brothers are gently sent up. Usually, Inside Llewyn Davis is straight satire, though, as it concentrates on the titular character's channeling of Van Ronk and, as such, has no intention of treating the music cavalierly; it winds up as something unusual for the Coens: an homage that comes from a place of warmth, a salute so loving it's hard to deny the affection.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/12/2013
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597959130
catalogNumber: 534867
Rank: 13183

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nancy Blake   Cello
Norman Blake   Dobro,Guitar
T Bone Burnett   Guitar
John Cohen   Mandolin
Dennis Crouch   Bass
Colin Linden   Guitar
David Mansfield   Fiddle,Guitar
Buddy Miller   Guitar
Gillian Welch   Vocal Harmony
Chris Thile   Mandolin
David Rawlings   Guitar
Gabe Witcher   Fiddle
Noam Pikelny   Banjo
Chris Eldridge   Acoustic Guitar
Paul Kowert   Bass
Eli Smith   Banjo,Vocals
Marcus Mumford   Acoustic Guitar
Craig Judelman   Fiddle
Walker Shepard   Guitar

Technical Credits

Ewan MacColl   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Len Chandler   Composer
George Cromarty   Composer
Daíthí Sproule   Composer
T Bone Burnett   Arranger,Composer,Producer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Dave Sinko   Engineer
Hedy West   Composer
Brendan Behan   Composer
Justin Timberlake   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Jason Wormer   Engineer
Ethan Coen   Composer,Producer
Joel Coen   Composer,Producer
Peter Kurland   Engineer
Marcus Mumford   Arranger,Associate Music Producer
Zachary Dawes   Guitar Techician
Oscar Isaac   Arranger
Robert Kaufman   Composer
Ed Rush   Composer
Thomas Perme   Guitar Techician
John Jeremiah Sullivan   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews