Involved [Expanded Edition]

Involved [Expanded Edition]

by Edwin Starr


$21.84 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.84, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


It's amazing that Edwin Starr had any voice at all after recording these songs. Producer Norman Whitfield had the explosive singer hitting incredible notes in the studio. A follow up to his #1 "War," the jammin' "Stop the War Now," which many fluffed off as a copy cat, is actually its own brand of poison. From Starr's opening line, "Make the Sign of Peace," and "Sing Now!" It's a nonstop rocker that suffered from comparisons to "War." Unbelievable, but "Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On" reaches even higher decibels. Norman had the session musicians playing fast, funky and reckless, as Edwin belted, at the top of his lungs, his love for low-down grooves. Whitfield recorded the same songs by different artists, so it didn't surprise me to hear Edwin doing the Temptations' "Ball of Confusion," which employs a motor-booty beat to drive home its socially significant lyrics. The Miracles' "Way Over There" was first released on Edwin's debut Motown LP; the brain trust at Hitsville U.S.A. decided to include it here also. And it's easy to see why, it has the same driving beat that is prevalent on this LP. The only cooling points are versions of Sly & the Family Stone's "Stand," and a soulful rendition of George Harrison's "My Sweet Lord."

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 5013929060531
catalogNumber: 5689551
Rank: 79970


  1. War
  2. Ball of Confusion (That's What the World is Today)
  3. Funky Music Sho' Nuff Turns Me on
  4. Stop the War
  5. Cloud Nine
  6. Stand
  7. Way Over There
  8. My Sweet Lord
  9. Stop the War Now
  10. Funky Music Sho' Nuff Turns Me on
  11. Cloud Nine
  12. Take Me Clear From Here
  13. Ball of Confusion (That's What the World is Today) [Ve
  14. Who is the Leader of People
  15. Don't Tell Me I'm Crazy
  16. There You Go
  17. You've Got My Soul on Fire
  18. Love (The Lonely Lords Prayer)
  19. Ain't it Hell Up in Harlem
  20. Big Papa
  21. Who's Right or Wrong
  22. Lonely Rainy Days in San Francisco

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews