Julie Is Her Name, Vols. 1-2

Julie Is Her Name, Vols. 1-2

by Julie London

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


In 1955, Julie London's British mezzo melted the hearts and spines of thousands. From the opening notes of "Cry Me a River," with Barney Kessel's silky chords shimmering around her, London took the sultry approach and smoldered through classics such as "I Should Care," "I'm Glad There Is You," "Gone With the Moon," "Easy Street," and others. London could sing, but her sex appeal overtook the material. London oozed sex appeal to the degree that her lyrics just dripped from her mouth like honey. Needless to say, the set took off like a rocket. Three years later, looking for another hit, she recorded a second volume with Howard Roberts on guitar and Red Mitchell on bass. The material was drawn from likewise sultry sources, but London's voice had matured so the vocal performances matched the sexiness. And while not so hot emotionally, vocally, the second set -- with Cole Porter's "What Is This Thing Called Love," Irving Berlin's "I Got Lost in His Arms," and Johnny Mercer's "Goody-Goody" -- swings much more and created pretty much the same reaction. London's voice, which has undergone several revivals from movies to books to dance clubs, is considered among the most evocative of the time period, and the epitome of sexual promise.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/14/2013
Label: Fine & Mellow
UPC: 8436542013543
catalogNumber: 4201354


  1. Cry Me A River
  2. I Should Care
  3. I'm In The Mood For Love
  4. I'm Glad There Is You
  5. Can't Help Lovin' That Man
  6. I Love You
  7. Say It Isn't So
  8. It Never Entered My Mind
  9. Easy Street
  10. 'S Wonderful
  11. No Moon At All
  12. Laura
  13. Gone With The Wind
  14. Blue Moon
  15. What Is This Thing Called Love
  16. How Long Has This Been Going On
  17. Too Good To Be True
  18. Spring Is Here
  19. Goody Goody
  20. The One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else
  21. If I'm Lucky
  22. Hot Today
  23. Little White Lies
  24. I Guess I'll Have To Change My Plan
  25. I Got Lost In His Arms
  26. When Your Lover Has Gone
  27. It's The Talk Of The Town
  28. Lonely Girl
  29. Fools Rush In
  30. How Deep Is The Ocean
  31. Don'cha Go 'Way Mad
  32. You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me
  33. Memphis In June
  34. September In The Rain

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews