Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu (Just Grace Series #6)

Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu (Just Grace Series #6)

by Charise Mericle Harper

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Overview

Grace is back to her zany antics again! Grace and Mimi have a secret: Mimi is going to be a big sister. To get ready, the girls try being "mother's helpers" to a family down the street, and Mimi begins to doubt her big sister abilities when 4-year-old Lily seems to like Grace best. But when Lily turns into a Terrible Tutu, Grace can't escape her! Can Grace use her empathy powers to shows Lily and Mimi the creative path towards a new friendship?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780547722276
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 05/08/2012
Series: Just Grace Series , #6
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 373,354
Product dimensions: 5.16(w) x 7.46(h) x 0.44(d)
Lexile: 820L (what's this?)
Age Range: 6 - 9 Years

About the Author



Along with the Just Grace series, Charise Mericle Harper is the author and illustrator of many books for children. In a starred review, Booklist called Just Grace “hilarious” and said, “The kids come alive in the story. . . . Give this to . . . anyone looking for a funny book.” Charise lives in Mamaroneck, New York. www.chariseharper.com

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"This entertaining entrée into the world of chapter books will leave young readers laughing, pondering and eagerly anticipating Grace’s next adventure."—Bookpage

"Easy for readers to relate to, and her voice is consistently funny, frank, and believable."—The Horn Book

"Short chapters, frequent black-line illustrations, and Harper’s sure voice as the blossoming Grace mark this as one of the better series for emerging chapter-book readers."—Booklist

Just Grace and the Snack Attack

"[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." —Horn Book

Just Grace Goes Green

"Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper’s sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile."—Horn Book

Just Grace Walks the Dog

"Grace’s cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . . Her ruminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book."—Library Media Connection

Still Just Grace

"Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." —Booklist

"Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." —School Library Journal

Just Grace

Booksense Summer Selection 2007

*"The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She’s a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda’s Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." —Booklist, starred review

"Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." —School Library Journal

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu (Just Grace Series) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE IT!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book ie horriblu written. The author has no effort to make it worth reading. Also ,ballet is stupid. I am a level 8 gymnast and gymnastics is way awesomer and harder. The author in this book, just isnt descent one bit. Sorry if i seem harsh, but it really upsets me when a book isnt well written
Aleetha on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was so glad when I found out that Net Galley offered this entertaining book for review. Although I just read the first two book of Just Grace Series, I still can keep up with all the rest of the story. Although there was one character whose story that I completely forgot, I did not get lost. I still enjoyed what Grace told in every chapter.This is the sixth book. I thought I would see a grown up Grace. Unfortunately, I found there was nothing new from Grace. She still could not take "Just Grace" as her nick name at school. Great empathy power was something that she proud of. Her superhero breakfast, french toast, did not change at all. But it was not tedious to read all those stuff above. Grace and her words have hooked me since I read the first book. Besides Grace has many new things to tell.Something interesting in this book is the appearance of Lily, a four years old - little girl with colorful tutu. For me, she was so cute. But for Grace, Lily was trouble. She even called her terrible tutu. Grace almost gave up. Moreover, when she found out that Lily could not make a friend with Mimi. Undeniable, dealing with a girl like Lily was exhausting. I could not stop giggling when I read about all time that they spent together. Lily was absolutely one of my favorite girls in this installment.Another great character from this quick read book was Mimi, Grace's best friend. That sibling adoption things made her over-excited. Most of her idea, plan even fear about "big sister" were totally hilarious.The illustration on this book was another thing that also does not change. It is still nice to see it.I hope Atria, local publisher, will publish the next series. Since they have brought out the first and the second book.CoverAlthough I am not a big fan of pink, I think the chapters were representative in the cover. Read this book so you will get what I mean.
CatheOlson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grace and her best friend Mimi are excited that Mimi's family will soon be adopting a little girl. While Mimi's family deals with the red tape involved, Grace and Mimi score a job as mother's helpers for a 4-year-old tutu-loving Lily and are thrilled to be getting some advance experience for dealing with litter girls. Unfortunately, thing get rocky when Lily wants nothing to do with Mimi and Mimi is afraid she'll be a failure as a big sister. Luckily, Grace comes up with a plan . . . This is my first time reading a Just Grace book. The characters were fun and the style very cute. Girls 5 - 8 year old girls will enjoy this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read one other Just Grace book and really liked it so I think this one will be good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My sweet daughter loved
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I THINK THE OTHER ONES R BETTER THAT IS JUSTT MY OPINION:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont tthink i have ever read any thing as good as this book! So i think u should all buy it and read it! This book is a must have!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emily Davidoff read this book you will love it. It has your name written all over it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ihhyfrfhgdsqaswzedxrfctgh
Jade Wong More than 1 year ago
i love it and loved the drawings