Keep Coming Back

Keep Coming Back

by Marc Broussard


$10.32 $11.99 Save 14% Current price is $10.32, Original price is $11.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


Who would have thought it would take a deal with Atlantic Records to uncover the raw live spirit of Louisiana singer/songwriter Marc Broussard? Broussard drew more than a few raves for his 2007 Vanguard issue S.O.S.: Save Our Soul, but it tried too hard to sound like an old-school soul record and contained only covers. This time out, all original material was recorded on two-inch analog tape. Broussard used his road band, and longtime collaborators Justin Tocket and Calvin Turner as co-producers; he knocks it out of the park. He employs a couple of Nash Vegas studio aces in keyboardist Tim Akers and guitarist Gary Burnette, the Nashville String Machine, and a seven-piece horn section to enhance the proceedings. LeAnn Rimes and Sara Bareilles sing on a track each. Keep Coming Back is a brash, very present recording rooted in Broussard's arrangements. Cut in 11 days, the singer claims eight songs were first takes. It's drenched in gritty Southern funk, blue-eyed soul, and swampy blues-rock. He has more in common with singers like Delbert McClinton, Delaney Bramlett, Joe South, and even Daryl Hall than the bizarre comparisons to Al Green and Donny Hathaway he got last time out. The set kicks off with gritty funk as Broussard comes strutting into his lyric in a relaxed but low-down backcountry seductive croon. One can feel the immediacy of the band's presence in the whomp of the snare drums, choppy guitars, and snaky keyboards winding themselves around the blanket of horns (can you say Muscle Shoals?) and a backing chorus that takes it all to party-ville. "Hard Knocks" contains a Hendrix groove in the guitar sound, explosive bassline and staggered breaks. Broussard's voice soar's above a wall of brass. "Why Should We Wait," with Bareilles, is a catchy pop-soul tune--but it's far from the best thing here. The Rimes duet on "When It's Good" is a solid clue that she should sing in this vein more often. To be truthful, one has seldom heard her this up-front and fearless. Her emotional depth almost steals the show -- especially with the whining Dobro playing country blues in the background. But Broussard can emote in the slow ones too, and this duet recalls Delaney & Bonnie. "Another Night Alone" showcases his upper register and ability to croon as well as growl -- likewise for "Going Home," which is downright sexy. "Power's in the People" is a deft, anthemic political song, no matter your party preference. Musically, this track is the mythical place where War, the Staples, and Bobby Whitlock all meet. The references are merely that, and Broussard sounds like himself. Keep Coming Back is a conscious attempt at capturing immediacy for the listener rather than an attempt at retro revisionism. This album is full of crackling, funky Louisiana blue-eyed soul; it should should be heard by anyone with a pulse.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2008
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678989827
catalogNumber: 512257
Rank: 88292


  1. Keep Coming Back
  2. Hard Knocks
  3. Real Good Thing
  4. Why Should She Wait
  5. Power's in the People
  6. Evil Things
  7. When It's Good
  8. Man for Life
  9. Another Night Alone
  10. Saying I Love You
  11. Going Home
  12. [Untitled]
  13. [Untitled]
  14. [Untitled]
  15. [Untitled]
  16. [Untitled]
  17. [Untitled]
  18. [Untitled]
  19. [Untitled]
  20. [Untitled]
  21. [Untitled]
  22. [Untitled]
  23. [Untitled]
  24. [Untitled]
  25. [Untitled]
  26. [Untitled]
  27. [Untitled]
  28. [Untitled]
  29. [Untitled]
  30. [Untitled]
  31. [Untitled]
  32. [Untitled]
  33. [Untitled]
  34. [Untitled]
  35. [Untitled]
  36. [Untitled]
  37. [Untitled]
  38. [Untitled]
  39. [Untitled]
  40. [Untitled]
  41. [Untitled]
  42. [Untitled]
  43. [Untitled]
  44. [Untitled]
  45. [Untitled]
  46. [Untitled]
  47. [Untitled]
  48. [Untitled]
  49. [Untitled]
  50. [Untitled]
  51. [Untitled]
  52. [Untitled]
  53. [Untitled]
  54. [Untitled]
  55. [Untitled]
  56. [Untitled]
  57. [Untitled]
  58. [Untitled]
  59. [Untitled]
  60. [Untitled]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marc Broussard   Primary Artist,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Gary Burnette   Guitar
Jeff Coffin   Saxophone
David Davidson   Concert Master
Mark Douthit   Saxophone
Dan Dugmore   Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar
Barry Green   Trombone
Mike Haynes   Trumpet
DeMarco Johnson   Piano,Clavinet,fender rhodes,Synthesizer Bass,Wurlitzer
Steve Patrick   Trumpet
Tim Akers   Organ,Piano,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer,Moog Bass
LeAnn Rimes   Vocals
Andrew Ramsey   Background Vocals
Roy Agee   Trombone
Shannon Sanders   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jennifer Kummer   French Horn
Jason Eskridge   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ken Lewis   Percussion
Calvin Turner   Bass,Percussion,Background Vocals,Bells,Mellotron
Nickie Conley   Background Vocals
Adam Shoenfeld   Guitar
Chad Gilmore   Percussion,Drums
Reggie Gisham   Trumpet
Sara Bareilles   Background Vocals
Court Clement   Guitar

Technical Credits

Raphael Saadiq   Composer
Alex McKinney   Web Design
Marc Broussard   Composer
Calvin Turner   Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Horn Conductor,String Conductor
Mark Obriski   Art Direction
Justin Tocket   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Brian Ranney   Package Production
Korey Richey   Engineer
Rob Gold   Art Manager

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Keep Coming Back 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This young man is going to be BIG! Each CD gets better and he is so talented, people just need to know!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago