Lady Must Live

Lady Must Live

by Daryl Sherman



Daryl Sherman quickly gained and earned a reputation as one of the top swing-based singers around in the 1990s. On this CD she sometimes sounds a bit like her main influence Mildred Bailey (particularly on "It's Love I'm After") but also displays her own warm style. Despite how the collective personnel looks (which includes 11 horn players, three guitars and three pianists), on most songs Sherman is accompanied by a rhythm section and just a horn or two. Clarinetist Ken Peplowski is quite notable during his three appearances and other guests include trombonist Dan Barrett, tenorman Frank Wess and pianist Tommy Flanagan in addition to the singer's usual pianist Mike Abene. The music fits into the mainstream where classic jazz and swing meet bop. Sherman sings a variety of superior standards most of which (with the exception of "Give Me the Simple Life," "Lover Man" and "Something to Live For") are not performed very often. The singer swings, uplifts the melodies and the messages of the lyrics with subtle creativity, and is in prime form throughout . Highlights include "I Want to Be Bad," "Speak Low," "Groovin' High" and the title cut. A delightful set, easily recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/1998
Label: AFTER 9
UPC: 0714932201922
catalogNumber: 2019


  1. One Life to Live
  2. I Want to Be Bad
  3. Fun to Be Fooled
  4. Speak Low
  5. Give Me the Simple Life
  6. Lover Man
  7. When in Rome
  8. Something to Live For
  9. It's Love I'm After
  10. Groovin' High
  11. I'm in Love Again
  12. If I Love Again
  13. A Lady Must Live

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews