Lagniappe: A Saddle Creek Benefit for Hurricane Katrina

Lagniappe: A Saddle Creek Benefit for Hurricane Katrina



There was a message on Saddle Creek's website in the days immediately after Hurricane Katrina hit. "Lagniappe was born on September 2nd, 2005, the result of our watching the surreal events unfolding in New Orleans and the greater Gulf Coast," it read. "All of Saddle Creek and its artists' profits from the sale of Lagniappe are being donated to the Red Cross for their relief efforts." The compilation includes tracks from nine roster artists, as well as friends and a few collaborations. There's "San Francisco Via Chicago Blues" from Elected, the lazy alt-country side project of Rilo Kiley's Blake Sennett; it's no Magnolia Electric Co., but it'll do for a benefit album. Azure Ray's Maria Taylor turns up with Now It's Overhead's Andy LeMaster on the dusky almost dream-pop of "Breathe," while Orenda Fink layers her own voice gently over the melodic tension in "No Evolution." Cursive, Sorry About Dresden, and Criteria don't disappoint, "Hypnotize" is tinged with the Faint's usual electro-fuzz swagger, and on "All Your Faithless Loyalties," Two Gallants' Adam Stephens sounds quite a bit like Dave Pirner. The music on Lagniappe doesn't try to do too much. It doesn't attempt to explore the hurricane's effects, or answer all the questions, or find someone to blame. It only wants to help, which is noble enough.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2005
Label: Saddle Creek
UPC: 0648401008722
catalogNumber: 87

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dan McCarthy   Musician
Todd Fink   Musician
Andy Magowan   Musician
Tiffany Kowalski   Musician
Ted Stevens   Musician
Tim Kasher   Musician
Jake Bellows   Musician
Blake Sennett   Guitar,Vocals
Jason Boesel   Percussion
Jenny Lewis   Background Vocals
Conor Oberst   Guitar,Vocals
Clint Schnase   Musician
Nate Walcott   Piano,Keyboards
Stefanie Drootin   Bass
Mike Bloom   Harmonica
Matt Maginn   Musician
Geraldine Vo   Vocals
Steve Bartolomei   Musician
Pat Oakes   Musician
Eric Roehrig   Musician
Tyson Vogel   Drums,Vocals

Technical Credits

Mayday   Engineer
Tony Berg   Engineer
Cursive   Composer
Andy LeMaster   Composer,Engineer
Mike Mogis   Producer,Engineer
Sorry About Dresden   Composer
Ted Stevens   Composer
Good Life   Composer
Stephen Pedersen   Engineer
Orenda Fink   Composer,Engineer
Maria Taylor   Composer,Engineer
Jake Bellows   Composer
Broken Spindles   Composer
Matt Radosevich   Engineer
Chris Rossi   Engineer
Adam Stephens   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews