The Last Four Things (Left Hand of God Series #2)

The Last Four Things (Left Hand of God Series #2)

by Paul Hoffman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

The epic story of Thomas Cale—introduced so memorably in The Left Hand of God—continues as the Redeemers use his prodigious gifts to further their sacred goal: the extinction of humankind and the end of the world...

To the warrior-monks known as the Redeemers, “the last four things” represent the culmination of a faithful life. Death. Judgment. Heaven. Hell. The last four things represent eternal bliss—or endless destruction, permanent chaos, and infinite pain.

Perhaps nowhere are the competing ideas of heaven and hell exhibited more clearly than in the dark and tormented soul of Thomas Cale. Betrayed by the girl he loves but still marked by a child’s innocence, possessed of a remarkable aptitude for violence but capable of extreme tenderness, Cale will lead the Redeemers into a battle for nothing less than the fate of the human race. And though his broken heart foretells the bloody trail he will leave in pursuit of a personal peace he can never achieve, a glimmer of hope remains—the question even Cale can’t answer: When it comes time to decide the fate of the world, to ensure the extermination of humankind or spare it, what will he choose? To express God’s will on the edge of his sword, or to forgive his fellow man—and himself?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101543405
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/04/2011
Series: Left Hand of God , #2
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 72,421
File size: 563 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Paul Hoffman studied English at New College, Oxford, before becoming a senior film censor at the British Board of Film Classification. He lives in the United Kingdom.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher


Praise for The Left Hand of God

“Brooding and magnificent. Hoffman has created a terrifying world and fitted it with strange and complex characters.” —Eoin Colfer, New York Times Bestselling Author of Artemis Fowl

The Ender’s Game-meets-the-Inquisition premise should draw fans like moths to a flame. Clever phrasing and innate humor shine through...This novel will make a rousing next step for fans of Terry Goodkind, R.A. Salvatore, and their ilk.”—Library Journal

“Writers like Hoffman are too rare. This wonderful book gripped me from the first chapter and then dropped me days later, dazed and grinning to myself.” —Conn Iggulden, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Dangerous Book for Boys

“The plight of poor, tormented, invincible Cale beguiles, and the book’s true power is its utter unpredictability…engrossing.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A riveting, powerful tale, with irresistible characters, humor and a brilliantly imagined world.”—Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Last Four Things 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Melhay More than 1 year ago
Cale is with Redeemer Bosco again at the Sanctuary, the place he escaped from not even a year ago. Bosco acts different with Cale now, as Bosco believes Cale to be the flesh of Gods anger with humanity. Bosco has much planned for Cale and Cale is working with him as he doesn't seem to have any other choice. After reading The Left Hand of God I wanted to read this book. There was great setup and creation in the first book with the Redeemers and Thomas Cale and his friends. There is an audience for this book, but I'm sorry to say I don't think I'm in that group. I struggled with this book. I felt as the first 100 pages where very confusing, well, not confusing as much as straying. We are on the main path of the story then off the story went with the side characters telling us about them and their history. I wanted to stay on track with Cale and the main story line. In this writing style I found myself forgetting what was happening. When Bosco talked with Cale I was lost. They seemed to talk in circles around each other, which is what I expect them to do knowing their history. The lines fell flat for me, which again the characters are raised this way so it is true to character. But for me I struggled with it. I worked my way to a little over half way and still felt I wasn't getting much from the story. I don't like to not finish books, but this one I stopped. I may someday come back to try and finish, but felt best to let go now. I found myself falling asleep while trying to read it, like I do with historical reads. So maybe if you are a fantasy fan who enjoy historical reads, you might enjoy this trilogy as well. I hate giving bad reviews, and I do hope others enjoy this series. If you have tried it and enjoyed it I would love to hear from you.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The cruel Redeemer warrior monks capture acolyte Thomas Cale who had escaped from their Sanctuary. No one leaves the Redeemers. Meanwhile the Redeemers continue to indoctrinate and train their young males as expendable foot soldiers to fight their enemy the Antagonists. Redeemer Bosco sees special skills In Cale. He trains the lad personally to become the Angel of Death who will end the world. Over time Cale becomes a famous military leader who takes the fight to the enemy winning victory after victory as he closes in on the Redeemer vision of humanity's extinction. However, in spite of his fame, he never moved pass the betrayal of his beloved Arbell Materazzi. The sequel to The Left Hand of God is a fascinating action-packed quest fantasy as readers learn more of the Redeemer philosophy based on The Last Four Things in life start with death and eternal judgment on the worthlessness of mankind and the worthiness (or not) of a human. In spite of all the escapades confronting "I'm not worthy" (with a nod to Wayne's World) Cale, the overarching plot moves very little yet is well worth reading by those who perused the first entry. Harriet Klausner
Keith Newsted More than 1 year ago
Overall this book picks up on the events of Left Hand of God very well. While i thoroughly enjoyed it, the places in the world described were a little too familiar and made it difficult to accept. The author is influenced heavily by events that have occurred in history, shuc as the Reformation, the Crusades and the Spanish Inquisition to name a few. Cale is the quinticential anti-hero and I cannot wait for the next book!
eheinlen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found several grammatical errors in this book, especially in regard to missing commas. Other than that, I found the writing style to be too flowery for my tastes. I also could not get interested in the characters or the storyline. I just don't think this was my type of book.
kraaivrouw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Middle books are always difficult (as second books whether part of series or not, second nights of plays, and sophomore years in high school and college). The first part is where all the fun stuff is - the setting up, introducing and developing the characters, and positioning everybody for the middle part of their journey to the inevitable climax (that will happen in another book, on another year, on another night).The Last Four Things suffers a bit from place as a middle book. Mr. Hoffman seems to feel that in this book it is time to muse on religion in its various forms as written in his book, to throw odd bits of real history into his alternate history, and generally to show off his Oxford education and how well-read he is. I understand this impulse because I am constantly comparing books I've read to other books I've read. I do this because I understand books on a personal level based in part on my reading history, but I've completely discarded reviews I've written because they came off as just a little to show-offy and smug. This tendency is the primary disappointment for me in the writing. It's just altogether too discursive and not interesting enough to really get away with it.Mr. Hoffman very much proved to me in The Left Hand of God that he can build worlds and alternate history, that he's read a lot and has an interesting take on things, and that he is very very good with language. He can draw you in and keep you reading for the craft alone. It's unfortunate that the tone of this book tends to be obnoxiously smug and self-satisfied. Combine this with characters that I really don't like (I read them because the writing is so good) and this is a letdown. It's still well written and I'm certain much of this will be necessary to the third book, but this really could have used a better edit. Still looking forward to the next. Still love the first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Repellant, unbelievable character development. Predictable twists, distracting historical references, plot barely moves. Not my bag. Plus the sexualization of underage characters.... Completely unnecessary and uncomfortable. Disappointing read, to say the least
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A decent story let down by poor world building. The weird mash-up of real and fictional places and history pulls me out of the story every time it comes up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
vwhis More than 1 year ago
I struggled to finish this one
Halchrist More than 1 year ago
This was an exceptionally well written, and easy to read book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NicholasTang More than 1 year ago
really good book, less character development and more of a focus on the military aspects of the redeemer's war, can't wait for the third book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved all the battles and strategies, one of my favorite series. Cant wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago