Let's Build Something to Break

Let's Build Something to Break

by After Midnight Project



After Midnight Project's debut offering of melodic, muscled, hard rock is hardly revolutionary, but it is better than it needs to be, boasting 11 tracks that find some sort of neutral territory between calm passion and grungy, open-armed melodrama. Let's Build Something to Break is a rhythmic record, one in which guitar solos aren't nearly as important as the interlocked thud of drums and bass. Flashes of piano and electronics are added to the mix, and "Gone Too Long" even flirts with symphonic accompaniment. Even so, this is a fairly lean album, polished to a spit-shine by John Feldmann -- Goldfinger frontman and accomplished producer for the likes of Good Charlotte, the Used, and Atreyu -- and largely focused on beefy, commercial would-be singles. Jason Evigan is an appropriate frontman for such music, delivering lines like "I'm gonna throw my fist in the air and erase you from my memory!" with a voice that alternates between theatrical grit, growls, and falsetto. This has all been done before, of course, but it's still comforting to hear a band do it fairly well.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/2009
Label: Motown
UPC: 0602527101477
catalogNumber: 001311202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

After Midnight Project   Primary Artist
Danny Morris   Drums,Group Member
Dan Morris   Vocals
John Feldmann   Percussion,Vocals
Jon Nicholson   Drums
Kyle Moorman   Guitar
Matt "Hippie" Appleton   Guitar,Trombone,Trumpet,Baritone Saxophone,Ukulele,Vocals
Amy Feldmann   Vocals
Dan Morris   Vocals
Victoria Janzen   Vocals
Jess Meilson   Vocals
Andrew Clore   Vocals
Christian Paul Meadows   Guitar,Vocals
Spencer Bastian   Guitar,Vocals
Jason Evigan   Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Justin Rubinstein   Accordion
TJ Armstrong   Bass

Technical Credits

John Feldmann   Composer,Programming,Producer
Zac Maloy   Composer
Joe Spix   Art Direction
Erik Ron   Engineer
Kyle Moorman   Engineer
Matt "Hippie" Appleton   Engineer
Spencer Bastian   Composer,Producer
Jason Evigan   Composer,Programming,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Let's Build Something to Break 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
MoneyPenny01 More than 1 year ago
After Midnight Project or AMP is a rising band from the Sunset Strip. The band has been performing together since 2004 building a strong fan base. The band was reported to be "one of the four best" unsigned bands in the country and this year was signed to Universal Motown Records. AMP's constant performing has created not only a great live show but has helped them define a great musical sound... It's a mixture of Rock/pop/acoustic. No confusion: They are a Rock Band. You'll be performing air guitar, singing along with lyrics, dancing in your living room, and turning up the volume. Thier music is about love and loss. Trying to find your way and knowing who will be by your side when you get there. After Midnight Project: Jason Evigan(Lead vocal, guitar, piano) Christian Meadows (guitar) Spencer Bastian (guitar) TJ Armstrong (Bass) and Danny Morris (drums) These boys are just getting started....