Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy

Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy

by George Gilder

NOOK BookNot for Online (eBook - Not for Online)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH

FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL: "Nothing Mr. Gilder says or writes is ever delivered at anything less than the fullest philosophical decibel..Mr. Gilder sounds less like a tech guru than a poet, and his words tumble out in a romantic cascade."

“Google’s algorithms assume the world’s future is nothing more than the next moment in a random process. George Gilder shows how deep this assumption goes, what motivates people to make it, and why it’s wrong: the future depends on human action.” — Peter Thiel, founder of PayPal and Palantir Technologies and author of Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future

The Age of Google, built on big data and machine intelligence, has been an awesome era. But it’s coming to an end. In Life after Google, George Gilder—the peerless visionary of technology and culture—explains why Silicon Valley is suffering a nervous breakdown and what to expect as the post-Google age dawns.

Google’s astonishing ability to “search and sort” attracts the entire world to its search engine and countless other goodies—videos, maps, email, calendars….And everything it offers is free, or so it seems. Instead of paying directly, users submit to advertising. The system of “aggregate and advertise” works—for a while—if you control an empire of data centers, but a market without prices strangles entrepreneurship and turns the Internet into a wasteland of ads.

The crisis is not just economic. Even as advances in artificial intelligence induce delusions of omnipotence and transcendence, Silicon Valley has pretty much given up on security. The Internet firewalls supposedly protecting all those passwords and personal information have proved hopelessly permeable.

The crisis cannot be solved within the current computer and network architecture. The future lies with the “cryptocosm”—the new architecture of the blockchain and its derivatives. Enabling cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin and ether, NEO and Hashgraph, it will provide the Internet a secure global payments system, ending the aggregate-and-advertise Age of Google.

Silicon Valley, long dominated by a few giants, faces a “great unbundling,” which will disperse computer power and commerce and transform the economy and the Internet.

Life after Google is almost here.

 

For fans of "Wealth and Poverty," "Knowledge and Power," and "The Scandal of Money." 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781621576136
Publisher: Regnery Publishing
Publication date: 07/17/2018
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 28,547
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

GEORGE GILDER, one of the leading economic and technological thinkers of the past forty years, is the author of nineteen books, including Wealth and Poverty, Life after Television, Knowledge and Power, and The Scandal of Money. A founding fellow of the Discovery Institute, where he began his study of information theory, and an influential venture investor, he lives with his wife in western Massachusetts.

Table of Contents

Prologue: Back to the Future-The Ride xi

Chapter 1 Don't Steal This Book 1

Chapter 2 Google's System of the World 11

Chapter 3 Google's Roots and Religions 25

Chapter 4 End of the Free World 37

Chapter 5 Ten Laws of the Cryptocosm 45

Chapter 6 Google's Datacenter Coup 51

Chapter 7 Daily's Parallel Paradigm 63

Chapter 8 Markov and Midas 75

Chapter 9 Life 3.0 93

Chapter 10 1517 109

Chapter 11 The Heist 119

Chapter 12 Finding Satoshi 129

Chapter 13 Battle of the Blockchains 143

Chapter 14 Blockstack 159

Chapter 15 Taking Back the Net 171

Chapter 16 Brave Return of Brendan Eich 179

Chapter 17 Yuanfen 189

Chapter 18 The Rise of Sky Computing 199

Chapter 19 A Global Insurrection 213

Chapter 20 Neutering the Network 227

Chapter 21 The Empire Strikes Back 241

Chapter 22 The Bitcoin Flaw 247

Chapter 23 The Great Unbundling 257

Epilogue: The New System of the World 269

Some Terms of Art and Information for Life After Google 277

Bibliography 285

Notes 293

Index 313

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Life After Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
loyolanaveenyonnex More than 1 year ago
big data, big lies, big theft. American led, NATO ( North america technology orangutans) liars can't we understand the data they collect. just want to do research at others people expense. a few good lies and the few dirty men behind the lies: Singularity: Robot better than humans? oh sure. like the human who built the y2k bug and then looted $200 billion by year 2000 , will now develop a Robot ot do our work? Watson and IBM: 2. Watson has not earned any revenue. Tesla inc, 3. Giga Factory, Nevada USA He Mr elon musk customer of BNY melon, is no Nikola tesla legla heir. He is getting Panasonic , Japan to build batteries and all he does is talk and enjoy resorts with his latest wife. Check the Tesla car, you will see th eli-ion battery is made by panasonic. Elon is like School dropout Larry ellison, oracle, good at power point presentation at oracle world! -one world and unlimited looting ideas! I can give afew more: but leave to the great IIT students amd MIt students to figure out the scams -Quantum computing, 5g my big slippers and bathroom slippers are hawaii from BATA. all you big data dada form kolkata to kansas be aware.
naveensreedevan More than 1 year ago
Solitary arseman and the fall of Silicon valley: Issac asimov production presentS: life after THE Endeavour: iN COLLABORATION WItH GAYLORD ARTHUR CLARKE, FREEGATeS PRODUCTIONS: YEAR 2666: ARSEMeN TaKES CONTROL AND THERE IS A TERROr IN THE CITY -DATA CENTERS OF GOOGLE is blown to bits, facebook users are left without a identity. no one to talk to this is the next scam after 911. silicon valley dc's wil be attacked so that they can buy new HPc computers using the insurance claims. and new laws require users before signing on to digital websites to comply and fall inline with numerous regulations to comply. Similar to 911. homeland security etc. After all just like wall street money, digital assets of digital economy is all illusion! that is the reason I am not invested in digital assets -phones, vr, ar, gopro. i am going only for real 'offline' stuff that last longer and dont give me EMF radiation. hifi (best cost $10,000 upwards) small theatre not your smarttv. so with everything. sticking to 1970s steve mcqueen ideas! not your digital car with bugged dashboard, GPs (that is off by miles) and so also my food -less is more. not organic(composit fed) plants/fruits or antibiotic fed industrial diseased chicken My song industrial disease -edited as usual: :digital virus direstraits song Somebody bugged me with a miners code somebody blew the whistle now the factory is shut got a job in frutkart gotta pick grocery from the shelve pack and ship via Elbee or fedex return to sender as it is a fake order some come out in sympathy some blame the board some blame oracle microsoft it dont matter as it is all fake everything is hyped nothing is real
Vietnam1968 More than 1 year ago
George Gilder gives an insight to the future about how Google, and Facebook will have to increase their computer size to continue to grow. Their limits will be electrical power to run all the servers needed to continue to grow. A very insightful book.
Vietnam1968 More than 1 year ago
George Gilder gives an insight to the future about how Google, and Facebook will have to increase their computer size to continue to grow. Their limits will be electrical power to run all the servers needed to continue to grow. A very insightful book.
Vietnam1968 More than 1 year ago
George Gilder gives an insight to the future about how Google, and Facebook will have to increase their computer size to continue to grow. Their limits will be electrical power to run all the servers needed to continue to grow. A very insightful book.
Vietnam1968 More than 1 year ago
George Gilder gives an insight to the future about how Google, and Facebook will have to increase their computer size to continue to grow. Their limits will be electrical power to run all the servers needed to continue to grow. A very insightful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
George Gilder definitely has something interesting to say about information theory, and has certainly done a lot of legwork when it comes to new innovations in networking and cryptography, but he has written this book badly enough that I can barely detect any of it. From chapters that flow together so poorly that they seem to just be articles cut-and-pasted next to each-other, to an overindulgence in the purplest, most obscure prose I have ever read (he sure loves the word “otiose”), to arguments that refuse to define their terms and swing wildly from topic to topic, I am baffled as to how Mr. Gilder thought this worthy to publish. On top of that, I suspect I disagree with several of his arguments ... though I am so unsure as to what they /are/ that it’s hard to say. The best part was after I endured a long, incoherent argument about why an articial medium like a computer could never host a creative consciousness, only to find Mr. Gilder turning around in a later chapter about Bitcoin and, without a hint of self-awareness, quoting Andreessen: “rich old white men crapping on technology they don’t understand can be counted on to be wrong roughly 100 percent of the time”.