Live in Dublin [CD/DVD]

Live in Dublin [CD/DVD]

by Leonard Cohen

CD(Digi-Pak / Bonus DVD)

$34.58 $39.99 Save 14% Current price is $34.58, Original price is $39.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


Leonard Cohen seems singularly determined to document his adventures in live performances which began when he returned to the concert stage in 2008, and Live in Dublin is the third live album Cohen has released in just five years. Given how satisfying 2009's Live in London was, one might reasonably wonder how badly one would need another concert souvenir, especially in such a short period of time, but comparing Live in Dublin with Live in London and 2010's Songs from the Road, one can readily see how Cohen's live show has seasoned since he returned to duty. If Live in London documented an unexpectedly revitalized and engaging performer, Live in Dublin shows he's since grown into a showman in the best sense of the word. If Cohen seemed pleased to greet his audience in 2009, on this recording of a September 2013 concert, the venerable singer and songwriter delights in the push and pull between himself and those who've come out to see him, and his songs of love and Eros have actually become more vital as Cohen's performances have gained strength, confidence, and passion; if a sandy-voiced septuagenarian could ever make a convincing seducer, it's this guy. Cohen's voice is still as craggy as one might expect from a man of 79, but his phrasing is bold and well-considered, and if his instrument sounded better in the '70s, in the truest sense Cohen is singing better than he has in his life. Cohen's backing band has gone through a few changes since his version of the never-ending tour began, and the occasional horn solos and jazz fusion accents that appeared on Live in London have faded into a more elemental sound that serves the songs much better than before, with Alex Bublitchi's violin and Javier Mas' laud and bandurria accenting the arrangements beautifully. The interplay between Cohen and his backing vocalists Sharon Robinson, Charley Webb, and Hattie Webb has only become warmer and more satisfying over the space of five years, and with three hours of music, you can't say Cohen and his band aren't delivering value for your entertainment dollar. Line in Dublin reveals Leonard Cohen is actually growing and improving as a performer as his 80th birthday looms on the horizon, and this unexpected and welcome new chapter in his career continues to reap surprising and delightful rewards. [Live in Dublin was also released as a CD/DVD set.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/02/2014
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888750355829
catalogNumber: 503558
Rank: 7182


Disc 1

  1. Dance Me To the End of Love
  2. The Future
  3. Bird On the Wire
  4. Everybody Knows
  5. Who By Fire
  6. The Gypsy's Wife
  7. Darkness
  8. Amen
  9. Come Healing
  10. Lover Lover Lover
  11. Anthem

Disc 2

  1. Tower of Song
  2. Suzanne
  3. Chelsea Hotel #2
  4. Waiting For the Miracle
  5. The Partisan
  6. In My Secret Life
  7. Alexandra Leaving
  8. I'm Your Man
  9. Recitation
  10. Hallelujah
  11. Take This Waltz

Disc 3

  1. So Long, Marianne
  2. Going Home
  3. First We Take Manhattan
  4. Famous Blue Raincoat
  5. If It Be Your Will
  6. Closing Time
  7. I Tried To Leave You
  8. Save the Last Dance For Me

Disc 4

  1. Dance Me To the End of Love
  2. The Future
  3. Bird On the Wire
  4. The Everybody Knows
  5. Who By Fire
  6. The Gypsy's Wife
  7. Darkness
  8. Amen
  9. Come Healing
  10. The Lover Lover Lover
  11. Anthem
  12. Tower of Song
  13. Suzanne
  14. Chelsea Hotel #2
  15. Waiting For the Miracle
  16. The Partisan
  17. In My Secret Life
  18. Alexandra Leaving
  19. I'm Your Man
  20. The Recitation
  21. Hallelujah
  22. Take This Waltz
  23. So Long, Marianne
  24. Going Home
  25. First We Take Manhattan
  26. Famous Blue Raincoat
  27. If It Be Your Will
  28. Closing Time
  29. I Tried To Leave You
  30. Save the Last Dance For Me
  31. Show Me the Place
  32. Anyhow
  33. Different Sides
  34. Save the Last Dance for Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Leonard Cohen   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Mitch Watkins   Guitar,Background Vocals
Roscoe Beck   Bass,Background Vocals
Neil Larsen   Accordion,Keyboards
Rafael Gayol   Percussion,Drums
Hattie Webb   Harp,Vocals
Charley Webb   Clarinet,Guitar,Vocals
Javier Mas   Guitar,Bandurria
Sharon Robinson   Vocals
Alkexandru Bublitchi   Violin

Technical Credits

Leonard Cohen   Composer
Mort Shuman   Composer
Roscoe Beck   Contributor
Neil Larsen   Composer
Patrick Leonard   Composer
Doc Pomus   Composer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Michelle Rice   Executive Producer
Mark Vreeken   Engineer
Anna Marly   Composer
Robert Kory   Executive Producer
Javier Mas   Laud
Sharon Robinson   Composer
Brian "Pants" Kirk   Engineer
Emmanuel D'astier De La Vigerie   Composer
Frederico Garcia Lorca   Composer
Alistair Leake   Camera Operator
Ed Sanders   Director,Producer
Spencer Ellis   Engineer
Phil Evans   Video Director
Phil "Philbilly" Evans   Director
Peter "Shaggy" Mersereau   Camera Operator
Kezban Washington   Personal Assistant
Jon Halliwell   Engineer
John "Hotpants" Ashton   Camera Operator
Jan Reyntjens   Video Technician

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews