by Dirty Loops


$11.47 $11.99 Save 4% Current price is $11.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


Dirty Loops' full-length debut album, 2014's Loopified, showcases the Swedish trio's ambitious jazz, prog rock, R&B, and electronic dance-inflected pop music. Formed in 2008, Dirty Loops feature the talents of vocalist/keyboardist Jonah Nilsson, bassist Henrik Linder, and drummer Aaron Mellergårdh. All three members studied jazz and classical music in college and spent several years working as session musicians before forming Dirty Loops as an outlet to express their own eclectic, far-reaching musical vision. Working with manager/producer Andreas Carlsson (as well as executive producer David Foster), the group has put together an album that's one part jazz fusion trio, one part electronic dance outfit, and one part contemporary pop act. Impressively, it also ends up being much more than the sum of its parts. Dirty Loops certainly have chops to spare and layer each track with enough jazz-informed chord progressions, arpeggiated six-string basslines, frenetic drum fills, and melismatic vocal breakdowns to fill any number of Stevie Wonder albums (to name-drop an obvious influence). Thankfully, they also don't forget to bring the pop melody, and cuts like the leadoff "Hit Me," the energetic club anthem "Sexy Girls," and the buoyant "Take on the World" grab you with immediately infectious hooks built largely around Nilsson's highly resonant, charismatic croon. In reality, the tracks on Loopified aren't really all that dissimilar to any number of modern pop hits from Justin Timberlake or Bruno Mars. The difference is primarily in Dirty Loops' high level of technical skill and jazz-infused progressions that lend a deeper harmonic nuance and maturity to their songs, even when they are singing about "sexy girls in the club." Ironically, besides a few cheeky lyrical asides, there's not too much that's very dirty or even musically messy about Dirty Loops here. On the contrary, Loopified is an innovative, pure musical vision of jazzy, infectious, crystalline-produced, club-ready pop.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2014
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602537383580
catalogNumber: 1844202
Rank: 85674

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dirty Loops   Primary Artist
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Jerry Hey   Leader
Dan Higgins   Saxophone
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet
Martin Stensson   Violin
Christopher Öhman   Viola
Mikael Sjogren   Viola
Claudia Bonfiglioli   Violin
Erik Arvinder   Violin
Erik Holm   Viola
Anna Larsson   Violin
Patrik Swedrup   Violin
Aleksander Sätterström   Violin
Gudmund Ingvall   Cello
Andrej Power   Violin
Simona Bonfiglioli   Violin
Paul Waltman   Violin
Riikka Repo   Viola
Tomas Lundström   Cello
Erik Liljenberg   Violin
Daniela Bonfiglioli   Violin
Carin Wallgren   Viola
Nisse Westfelt   Tambourine
Maja Keuc   Background Vocals
Andreas Ekstedt   Percussion
Henrik Linder   Bass,Group Member
Aron Mellergårdh   Drums,Group Member
Jonah Nilsson   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Simon Petrén   Synthesizer
Åsa Strid   Cello
Lars Bryngelsson   Viola
Samuel Coppin   Cello
Åsa Wirdefeldt   Violin
Anna Wirdefeldt   Violin
Filip Jers   Harmonica
Erlend Habbestrad   Cello
Sergej Bolkhovets   Violin
Oscar Treitler   Violin

Technical Credits

David Foster   Executive Producer
Jerry Hey   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Rodney Jerkins   Composer
Andreas Carlsson   Composer,Executive Producer
Andrew Hey   Engineer
Jonas Akerlund   Visual Concept
Ronny Lathi   Drum Engineering
Aloe Blacc   Composer
Erik Arvinder   String Arrangements
Justin Bieber   Composer
Sebastian Larsson   Composer
Tim Bergling   Composer
Nisse Westfelt   Drum Mix,Drum Technician
Urban Näsvall   Drum Technician
Willem Bleeker   Piano Engineer
Julian Swirsky   Composer
Mike Einzinger   Composer
Dirty Loops   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements
Tilly Thomson   Composer
Robin Olofsson   Art Direction
Rickard Gustavsson   Drum Technician
Oscar Vallinder   Art Direction
Joshua Gudwin   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews